Latest News


By Dick Jordan

Former AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car Champions Damion Gardner and Mike Spencer continue their battle for the 2015 championship May 2 when the series returns to Perris (Calif.) Auto Speedway. The two are separated by just five points after taking second and third respectively in last Saturday night’s “So-Cal Showdown” at the PAS.

USAC United States Auto Club CRA California Racing Association Logo tease

Richard Vander Weerd of Visalia, Calif. remained unbeaten at Perris Saturday on “Power of Purple Night.” Wheeling the Vander Weerd Construction/Battery Worx Maxim/Shark, he passed Spencer on lap eight and led the final 23 laps to beat Gardner, Spencer, Ryan Bernal and Austin Williams. The win left Vander Weerd sixth in the new standings.


Gardner and Spencer will also continue their mastery at the PAS May 2. Gardner, who has three series titles, has 32 wins there while Spencer, a five-time USAC/CRA king, has 25.



2015 AMSOIL USAC/CRA Sprint Car Standings: 1-Damion Gardner-260, 2-Mike Spencer-255, 3-Matt Michell-217, 4-Austin Williams-175, 5-Jake Swanson-173, 6-Richard Vander Weerd-161, 7-Cody Williams-157, 8-Brady Bacon-136, 9-Brody Roa-122, 10-R.J. Johnson-114.