Winter Challenge USAC openers at Canyon

USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series Top Story

From Dick Jordan

The 2016 “Winter Challenge” opens this weekend at Canyon Speedway in Peoria, Ariz. as the USAC racing season officially debuts.

The five-race series kicks off this weekend with races Friday, Saturday and Sunday, serving as “special event” non-points races for the USAC Southwest and West Coast Sprint Car Series.

R.J. Johnson and Danny Faria Jr. are the respective Southwest and West Coast Champions, Johnson capturing his third consecutive Southwest title last year and Faria repeating his 2013 West Coast title in 2015.

The multi-faceted program also includes IMCA Modifieds, Stocks and Pure Stocks, plus Modlites and Mini-Sprints.

Last year’s “Winter Challenge” winners included Brady Bacon and Ryan Bernal, who won two of the three races. Other 2015 Canyon Speedway USAC Sprint winners included R.J. Johnson (3), Stevie Sussex (2), Matt Rossi, Mike Martin, Damion Gardner and Mike Spencer.

The “Winter Challenge” concludes with races January 29 and 30 at Canyon Speedway.