Tankersley grabs first ASCS Gulf South win of 2016 at the Heart O’ Texas Speedway

2016 ASCS Gulf South Region Top Tory

From Bryan Hulbert

Waco, TX — (May 6, 2016) — Taking his G3 Boats No. 14 to Victory Lane for the first time in 2016, Channin Tankersley picked up the win in the 12th annual Gordon Woolley Classic at the Heart O’ Texas Speedway with the Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region presented by Southern Trailer Works.

Rolling from the front row, the win also moved the 2014 ASCS Gulf South Champion from fourth in points to the lead going into Saturday at the Golden Triangle Raceway Park.

Coming from the B-Feature, 15th starting Travis Rilat charged through the field to second with Ray Allen Kulhanek finishing third from the seventh starting spot. Tommy Bryant was fourth with Aaron Reutzel, in the Scottie McDonald owned No. 88, rounding out the top-five.

Defending ASCS Gulf South Champion, Kevin Ramey, was sixth with Michael McNeil seventh. From the 19th starting spot, Michael Lang crossed eighth with Dustin Gates and J.J. Simmons completing the top-ten.

The Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region presented by Southern Trailer Works rolls into the Golden Triangle Raceway Park in Beaumont, Texas on Saturday, May 7. Limited Modifieds and Mod Lites will join the Saturday lineup. Free children’s tickets will be given with every Mother that comes to the front gate. Get more information on the Golden Triangle Raceway Park at http://www.gtrpbmt.com.

For continued updates on the Griffith Truck and Equipment ASCS Gulf South Region presented by Southern Trailer Works, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Race Results:

ASCS Gulf South Region
Heart O’ Texas Speedway – Waco, Texas
12th annual Gordon Woolley Classic
Friday, May 6, 2016

Car Count: 26

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 2. 4J-John Carney II; 3. 57-Jacob Lucas; 4. 02-Harry Yerrington; 5. 11-Jerry Cox; 6. 30-Johnnie Wasson; 7. (DNF) 17-Travis Elliott

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 15T-Michael McNeil; 2. 88-Aaron Reutzel; 3. 1A-Randy Allen; 4. 58-Gary Floyd; 5. 29-Travis Rilat; 6. 14L-Michael Lang; 7. (DNF) 2X-Tucker Doughty

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 17W-Harli White; 2. 6-Dustin Gates; 3. 76-Zane Lawrence; 4. 51-Caleb Martin; 5. 74E-Claud Estes III; 6. 48-Cody Stacy

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 14-Channin Tankersley; 2. 28-Tommy Bryant; 3. 7M-Kevin Ramey; 4. 66-J.J. Simmons; 5. 10-Terry Gray; 6. (DNF) 23-Seth Bergman

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 29-Travis Rilat[2]; 2. 1A-Randy Allen[1]; 3. 74E-Claud Estes III[4]; 4. 58-Gary Floyd[3]; 5. 14L-Michael Lang[7]; 6. 17-Travis Elliott[12]; 7. 10-Terry Gray[8]; 8. 48-Cody Stacy[10]; 9. (DNF) 30-Johnnie Wasson[5]; 10. (DNF) 11-Jerry Cox[6]; DNS 23-Seth Bergman; DNS 2X-Tucker Doughty

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 14-Channin Tankersley[2]; 2. 29-Travis Rilat[15]; 3. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[7]; 4. 28-Tommy Bryant[9]; 5. 88-Aaron Reutzel[8]; 6. 7M-Kevin Ramey[6]; 7. 15T-Michael McNeil[1]; 8. 14L-Michael Lang[19]; 9. 6-Dustin Gates[4]; 10. 66-J.J. Simmons[14]; 11. 74E-Claud Estes III[17]; 12. 76-Zane Lawrence[13]; 13. 17-Travis Elliott[20]; 14. 57-Jacob Lucas[10]; 15. 1A-Randy Allen[16]; 16. (DNF) 58-Gary Floyd[18]; 17. (DNF) 4J-John Carney II[5]; 18. (DNF) 17W-Harli White[3]; 19. (DNF) 51-Caleb Martin[12]; 20. (DNF) 02-Harry Yerrington[11]