NSA Series Set for 21 Races at Six Tracks

NSA Top Story Logo

NSA Top Story LogoFrom Inside Line Promotions

BILLINGS, Mont. (December 12, 2016) – The North-American Speed Association is soaring to new heights in 2017.

The NSA Series, which was revamped in 2016 when it held a half-dozen races, will showcase 21 races at six tracks in Montana, Washington and Western Canada next season. All races will pay at least $1,500 to win with several special events featuring increased payouts.

As previously announced, the NSA Series is partnering with the Washington-based Summer Thunder Sprint Series for 11 races titled the Northwest Challenge Series. All NCS events will pay at least $2,000 to win.

Both the NSA Series season and the Northwest Challenge Series will offer a points fund that will be announced at a later date.

“We had a great time reintroducing the NSA Series in 2016 and are proud to announce an ambitious schedule for 2017 that will include a partnership with Steve Beitler and the Summer Thunder Sprint Series,” NSA Series Founder Mike Quigley said. “Our goal is to cross promote sprint car racing in Montana, Western Canada and Washington. Hopefully we can get some of our teams and fans to venture west and have some of the Washington race teams and fans head to Montana and Western Canada.”

The NSA Series season is scheduled to begin on May 19-20 with the Sprint Car Shootout at Electric City Speedway in Great Falls, Mont. The track will also host NSA races on June 10, July 14, Aug. 11-12 and Sept. 1-3 for the 23rd annual Mountain Roundup.

The NSA Series will visit Billings Motorsports Park in Billings, Mont., on June 16-17 for the Harvey Ostermiller Memorial as well as on July 15 and Sept. 15-16 for the Dan Laber Memorial.

Western Canada showcases a tripleheader weekend in July when the NSA Series invades Castrol Raceway in Edmonton, Alberta, on July 21-22 for the 62 nd annual Jim Albert Memorial Gold Cup before venturing to Drayton Valley Speedway in Drayton Valley, Alberta, on July 23.

Skagit Speedway in Alger, Wash., brings the NSA Series to the Summer Nationals on July 28-29.

The NSA Series returns to Washington on Sept. 22-23 to wrap up the season at Central Washington State Fair Raceway in Yakima.

Canadian Kelly Miller outlasted stout competition to claim the 2016 NSA Series championship. A total of 52 drivers, including former champions of the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Car Series, Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour and National Sprint League, from a dozen states and Canada contested at least one of the NSA races in 2016.

Miller was one of four drivers to win during five finished features (the first race rained out). Texas native Aaron Reutzel and Washington resident Trey Starks also picked up a victory with Missouri’s Danny Lasoski sweeping the final weekend.

Starks, who was only 19 points behind Miller in the final tally, placed second in the standings with Canadians Skylar Gee and Matthew Dusseault finishing third and fourth, respectively. Reutzel rounded out the top five.

2017 Tentative NSA Series Schedule:

May 19-20 Electric City Speedway Great Falls, Mont. Sprint Car Shootout

June 10 Electric City Speedway Great Falls, Mont.
June 16-17 Billings Motorsports Park Billings, Mont. ** Harvey Ostermiller Memorial

July 14 Electric City Speedway Great Falls, Mont. **
July 15 Billings Motorsports Park Billings, Mont. **
July 21-22 Castrol Raceway Edmonton, Alberta, Canada ** 62nd Jim Albert Memorial Gold Cup
July 23 Drayton Valley Speedway Drayton Valley, Alberta, Canada **
July 28-29 Skagit Speedway Alger, Wash. ** Summer Nationals

Aug. 11-12 Electric City Speedway Great Falls, Mont.

Sept. 1-3 Electric City Speedway Great Falls, Mont. 23rd annual Mountain Roundup
Sept. 15-16 Billings Motorsports Park Billings, Mont. Dan Laber Memorial
Sept. 22-23 Central Washington State Fair Raceway Yakima, Wash. **
** Denotes Northwest Challenge Series event