Saldana Looks for #23 at The Western World Championships

From USA Raceway

Tucson, AZ — After a stellar year and more than 20 victories, Joey Saldana will head west to take part in the 42nd Running of The KRONIK Energy Western World Championships Presented by Old Tucson Studios. After adding himself to the record books at the World Finals, Saldana will again look to make history by adding his name to the prestigious list of former WWC winners.

Saldana will pilot Herald Main’s Ham Construction-ART Enterprises-Ostrich powered Maxim in his quest to capture the illustrious title and the $15k. “The Brownsburg Bullet” has racked up more than 160 wins through out his career and ranks in the top 10 of all time World of Outlaws feature winners. One of only five drivers to win more than 20 WoO features in a single season, Saldana has been a dominate force in the sprint car world for some time and his at the top of his game coming into the American Sprint Car Series season finale.

“We are thrilled to have Joey at this event” commented USA Raceway. “He is a great racer and definitely adds to an already stout field! We have some of the best racers in the country coming to Tucson and this will be a show like no other.”

Saldana comes into the middle of a very heated battle for the Lucas Oil ASCS Sprint Car Series Championship. Shane Stewart and Jason Johnson will go head to head with only 24 points separating the two drivers as the ASCS title will be decided when the checkered flag drops November 21st. Charles Davis and Rick Ziehl head up the Discount Tire Canyon Region and Southwest Region respectively. Davis leads RJ Johnson in the non wing region while Ziehl holds a narrow margin over Ben Gregg in Southwest Region points. All three Championships will be decided on the final night of the Kronik Energy Western World and the champions will be honored at the Brodix ASCS Banquet November 22nd at Old Tucson Studios.

More than one hundred sprint cars will be expected to take part in what will be one of the biggest sprint car events in the country as drivers from all walks will look to add their name to prestigious list of winners.

Both the winged and wingless forces will tackle USA Raceway’s 3/8-mile clay oval for three nights on November 19th, 20th and 21st, with more than $100,000 in “A” Feature money alone distributed over the course of the blockbuster event. A $15,000 share awaits the winner of the Lucas Oil ASCS season-ender on November 21st, with the Discount Tire Co. ASCS Canyon Region conqueror on November 21 pocketing $5,000.

Ticket pricing, seating charts and purchasing information can be found online at or by calling the USA Raceway office at 520-574-8515

Hotel Information can be found at or by calling the Tucson Airport Courtyard by Marriott at 520-573-0000

USA Raceway is located east of Tucson off I-10 exit 268, then 1.6 miles south on Craycroft Road, which turns into Los Reales. For more information please, contact the track at 520-574-8515 or additional information regarding USA Raceway can be found at

Product information for KRONIK energy can be found at

The 18th Annual American Sprint Car Series Awards Banquet, Presented by Brodix, will follow directly on the heels of USA Raceway’s 42nd Annual KRONIK Energy Western World Championships presented by Old Tucson Studios.

Open to all racers, teams and fans, tickets are available for just $20 and may be obtained by calling USA Raceway at 520-574-8515. Tickets must be ordered by Tuesday, November 17th.

More information regarding Old Tucson Studios is available at

Tennessee’s Kevin Swindell became the 25th different winner of the Western World by topping the 2008 edition of the event last November, adding his name to a prestigious list of past winners that includes his father Sammy Swindell, who won the event in both 1980 and 1989.

Steve Kinser has claimed the most Western World titles with seven triumphs including wingless wins in 1982 and 1983 followed by winged wins in 1985, 1987, 1990, 1992 and 1996.

Ron Shuman is next on the list with five Western World triumphs, all of the wingless variety, with other drivers posting multiple Western World wins including Lealand McSpadden (3), Bud Kaeding (2), Mark Kinser (2), Jan Opperman (2) and Sammy Swindell (2).

Past Western World Championship Winners (Wing / Non-Wing)
2008 – Kevin Swindell (nw)
2007 – Jerry Coons, Jr. (nw)
2006 – Josh Wise (nw)
2005 – Dave Darland (nw)
2004 – Bud Kaeding (nw)
2003 – Tony Elliott (nw)
2002 – Bud Kaeding (nw)
2001 – Jeremy Sherman (nw)
2000 – Jay Drake (nw)
1999 – Donny Schatz (w)
1998 – Tyler Walker (w)
1997 – Mark Kinser (w)
1996 – Steve Kinser (w)
1995 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1994 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1993 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1992 – Steve Kinser (w)
1991 – Danny Lasoski (w)
1990 – Steve Kinser (w)
1989 – Sammy Swindell (w)
1988 – Mark Kinser (w)
1987 – Steve Kinser (w)
1986 – Bobby Davis, Jr. (w)
1985 – Steve Kinser (w)
1984 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1983 – Steve Kinser (nw)
1982 – Steve Kinser (nw)
1981 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1980 – Sammy Swindell (nw)
1979 – Tim Green (nw)
1978 – Lealand McSpadden (nw)
1977 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1976 – Bubby Jones (nw)
1975 – Ron Shuman (nw)
1974 – Rick Ferkel (nw)
1973 – Earl Wagner (nw)
1972 – Jan Opperman (nw)
1971 – Jan Opperman (nw)
1970 – Jerry McClung (nw)
1969 – Bob Huebner (nw)
1968 – Bob Cleberg (nw)