Johnson Mounts Speedweek Advance

From WSS

The Cajun Sensation Jason Johnson claimed back-to-back East Coast Pipeline Speedweek rounds at the Borderline Speedway, Mount Gambier. The American started from pole position after claiming the Vortex Top 8 Shootout and led Robbie Farr at the start of the 35-lap, $10,000 to win A-main. Farr was desperate to stay in contention for not only Speedweek but also the overall Performance Wholesale World Series Sprintcars Championship but struck trouble mid way the feature race.

Danny Smith jumped into third position followed by Ryan Farrell, quick time man Cameron Gessner and Brooke Tatnell. On the second circuit Tatnell leapt into fourth and was repassed by Farrell but not for long with Gessner dropping back through the field and Madsen taking over fifth.

The only caution period occurred when B-Main winner Bryan Mann stopped on lap 10 with a flat right rear tyre. Six laps later Farr was all over the back of Johnson however he bumped the leaders rear end and dropped to fifth behind Farrell. Things did not get better for Farr who eventually fell back to seventh.

On lap 23 Tatnell passed Smith who fell into the clutches of Farrell while American Craig Dollansky pulled infield soon after. Farrell went on to pass Tatnell on lap 32 and with 6 laps remaining Tatnell hit James McFadden while trying to put him a lap down and cut his right front tyre. Earlier McFadden caused a complete restart when he spun out of third and was forced to the rear of the field. Despite a flat tyre the overall championship leader limped home to finish third from Smith, Egel who was in the thick of the action behind the leaders, Dumesy who came on strong in the final laps after starting tenth, Farr, Madsen, Veal and Grant Anderson in the top ten.

The A-Main produced some sensational racing however in the end it was Johnson who won by a quarter of a lap to extend his Speedweek lead heading into the penultimate round at Avalon Raceway, Geelong on December 30.

There was plenty of drama in the heat races and preliminary main events with roll overs and pile-ups galore. Wayne Rowlett crashed out while leading the C-Main. Tatnell was caught up in a heat race crash that resulted in a flat tyre. He was given the mechanical default flag and forced infield but was still granted points as per the sup regs. Danny Reidy was holding down a solid transfer position in the B-Main when he spun and was hit by Matthew Reed who rolled and was collected by Carl Dowling.

Johnson (446) extends his Speedweek lead over Tatnell (436), Farr (426) and Dumesny (424) while Tatnell (858) increased his overall points lead from Farr and Dumesny (844) who are in equal second position with Johnson knocking on the door of the top ten (696).

A-Main Results
1. NQ47 Jason Johnson

2. W95 Ryan Farrell

3. W2 Brooke Tatnell

4. USA4 Danny Smith

5. S29 Matt Egel

6. V5 Max Dumesny

7. Q7 Robbie Farr

8. W92 Kerry Madsen

9. V35 Jamie Veal

10. Q83 Grant Anderson

11. V88 Stephen Bell

12. Q29 David Murcott

13. Q68 Cameron Gessner

14. S81 Luke Dillon

15. S7 Lynton Jeffrey


16. James McFadden

17. Craig Dollansky

18. Bryan Mann

QSS Quicktime – Cameron Gessner

Revolution Racegear Highest Heat Points –

Craig Dollansky

Vortex Top 8 Shootout – Jason Johnson

Hoosier Hard Charger –
Matt Egel

DMI Lucky 11th – Stephen Bell

Pro Shocks Award – Jason Johnson

East Coast Speedweek Points

1. Jason Johnson 446

2. Brooke Tatnell 436

3. Robbie Farr 426

4. Max Dumesny 424

5. Danny Smith 408

6. Ryan Farrell 398

7. Kerry Madsen 390

8. James McFadden 386

9. Bryan Mann 384

10. Grant Anderson 366