ASCS Rocky Mountain Region Discontinued

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

Lonnie Wheatley, TULSA, Okla. (June 23, 2010) – Easily ranking as the most expansive Regional market under the American Sprint Car Series umbrella, ASCS Rocky Mountain Region operations have been discontinued due to deteriorating market conditions.

The ASCS Rocky Mountain Region had ranked as the series longest-running Region with nine seasons completed through 2009 after testing the waters with a handful of events over the latter portion of 2000.

However, with no true “home” track in the base state of Colorado over the past several seasons, the elevating cost of travel to tracks in Wyoming, Montana, Idaho, New Mexico, western South Dakota and western Kansas has led to declining car counts and fewer teams able to follow the full series.

Through the five events completed thus far in 2010, not a single driver had competed in all five events, thus accelerating the decision to discontinue the series.

Events at New Mexico’s Aztec Speedway will go on as scheduled, with the July 2-3 non-wing event an ASCS Canyon Region double and the September 17-18 Floyd Reynolds Memorial an ASCS Southwest event.

This past Saturday’s feature at Sweetwater Speedway in Rock Springs, WY, marked the 161st ASCS Rocky Mountain main event completed since 2001, with Utah’s Dustin Hall becoming the 48th different driver to reach victory lane under the ASCS Rocky Mountain Region sanction.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at