Stewart Lands Limaland Loot

By Bob Fricke

The Elwer Fence Sprints was JR Stewart’s personal playground for the second week in row at Limaland as he parlayed the pole start into a flag-to-flag winning performance. The Hammons Motorsports entry was threatened through the first ten laps by Tim Hunter until a caution slowed the field when Hud Horton whacked the turn 2 wall.
Following the restart on lap 11, Hunter tried different lines in an attempt to get around Stewart, but it was to no avail. “That was a great sprint car race,” stated the clearly satisfied Stewart following his second straight win. “When I didn’t jump the cushion it was pretty cool running, but when I did a few times it became a sorta hairy. I just had to stay on the gas and keep it up front.” Stewart was effusive in his praise of car preparation. “Tonight was largely due to Zach Swisher and Craig Dussel and their knowledge with the car. They work their butts off at the shop and the proof is here at the track.”

The action resumes at Limaland Motorsports Park on Friday, August 6, for the final Meet the Drivers Night of 2010. The Elwer Fence Sprints, K&N UMP Modifieds, and the Budweiser Thunderstocks will compete at the high-banked ¼-mile oval. Spectator gates open at 5 p.m., with hot laps at 6:30 p.m., and the full racing program at 7:30 p.m. The latest news and information about Limaland Motorsports Park can be found at You can also find 2010 Limaland Motorsports Park on Facebook.

Limaland Motorsports Park – 7/30/2010
Pepsi Night

Elwer Fence Sprints

Heat 1 – (8 Laps – Top 7 Transfer)
1. 6S-Jr Stewart; 2. 5W-Jeff Williams; 3. 17-Jared Horstman; 4. 7-Mike Dunlap; 5. 38-Aaron Smith; 6. 1W-Kent Wolters; 7.18-Todd Heuerman
Heat 2 – (8 Laps – Top 7 Transfer)
1. 28H-Hud Horton; 2. 6-Mike Dussel; 3. B20-Butch Schroeder; 4. 2M-Ethan Hoy; 5. 4J-Bob Gehr Jr.; 6. 2-Brent Gehr; 7. 6Z-Zach Ames
Heat 3 – (8 Laps – Top 7 Transfer)
1. 7C-Tim Hunter; 2. 35-Ron Blair; 3. 34-Luke Hall; 4. 11-Tim Allison; 5. 10J-Jarrod Delong; 6. 32M-Derek Hastings; 7. 4B-Andrew Bowsher
Dash – (6 Laps – Top – Transfer) 1. 35 Ron Blair 2. 7 Mike Dunlap 3. 5W Jeff Williams 4. 1W Kent Wolters
1. 6S JR Stewart 2. 7C-Tim Hunter 3. 6-Mike Dussel 4. 28H-Hud Horton 5. 34-Luke Hall 6. 17-Jared Horstman 7. B20-Butch Schroeder 8. 35-Ron Blair 9. 7-Mike Dunlap 10. 18-Todd Heuerman 11. 1W-Kent Wolters 12. 38-Aaron Smith 13. 4J-Bob Gehr Jr. 14. 10J-Jarrod Delong 15. 2M-Ethan Hoy 16. 4B-Andrew Bowsher 17. 32M-Derek Hastings 18. 2-Brent Gehr 19. 11-Tim Allison 20. 5W-Jeff Williams DNS-6Z Zach Ames