From Williams Grove
MECHANICSBURG, PA — After Daryn Pittman and Tyler Walker won the first two features, Don Kreitz, Jr., scored a $5000 victory in the Jack Gunn Memorial Triple 20s for sprint cars Friday night at Williams Grove Speedway.
In the first feature Rick Lafferty took the lead at the start from his pole position. After beating Greg Hodnett into the first turn, Lafferty set the pace for the first eight laps.
Pittman, who started sixth, took command following a ninth lap restart with an inside move through turns one and two.
While Pittman was in control of the race, several drivers were moving forward from deep in the pack. Stevie Smith took second place from Lafferty at the half way point, but was unable to seriously challenge Pittman.
Pittman’s lead was .95 at the finish.
Mark Smith charged from the twelfth starting position to finish third. Danny Dietrich finished fourth after starting ninth and Tyler Walker came from 17th to complete the top five.
Steve Buckwalter, Aaron Ott, Chad Layton, Rick Lafferty and Greg Hodnett finished in positions six through ten respectively.
Walker started fourth in the second feature, but moved to the front row when officials were dissatisfied with the original start. He took the lead from Steve Buckwalter with an outside charge off turn four on lap two and was never challenged en route to a 1.63 second victory over Ott, Buckwalter, Layton, M. Smith, Dietrich, S. Smith, Fred Rahmer, Pittman and Brent Marks.
Kreitz started 14th in the finale and wasted no time getting to the front. He drove by early leader Steve Buckwalter on the eleventh lap and cruised to his 54th career Grove victory and first of the season.
Buckwalter finished 1.68 seconds behind Kreitz in his best effort of the year. M. Smith, S. Smith, and Dietrich completed the top five ahead of Layton, Rahmer, Ott, Pittman and Alan Krimes.
S. Smith out qualified the 26-car field with a lap of 17.151 in time trials.
Qualifying race wins went to Buckwalter and Brian Montieth.
The race was named to honor the memory of the speedway’s Hall of Fame promoter, Jack Gunn.

Williams Grove Speedway Sprint Car Feature Finishes – September 3, 2010

First Feature – 20 laps – Daryn Pittman, 2. Stevie Smith, 3. Mark Smith, 4. Danny Dietrich, 5. Tyler Walker, 6. Steve Buckwalter, 7. Aaron Ott, 8. Chad Layton, 9. Rick Lafferty, 10. Greg Hodnett, 11. Brent Marks, 12. Adam Wilt, 13. Fred Rahmer, 14. Justin Henderson, 15. Brian Montieth, 16. Alan Krimes, 17. Cory Haas, 18. Derek Sell, 19. Troy Fraker, 20. Robbie Stillwaggon, 21. Brian Leppo, 22. Curt Michael, 23, Don Kreitz, Jr., 24. Adrian Shaffer

Second Feature -20 laps – 1. Walker, 2. Ott, 3. Buckwalter, 4. Layton, 5. M. Smith, 6. Dietrich, 7. S. Smith, 8. Rahmer, 9. Pittman, 10. Marks, 11. Kreitz, 12. Haas, 13. Wilt, 14. Leppo, 15. Henderson, 16. Montieth, 17. Sell, 18. Stillwaggon, 19. Fraker, 20. Hodnett, 21. Krimes, 22. Michael, 23. Lafferty, 24. A. Shaffer

Third Feature – 20 laps – 1. Kreitz, 2. Buckwalter, 3. M. Smith, 4. S. Smith, 5. Dietrich, 6. Layton, 7. Rahmer, 8. Ott, 9. Pittman, 10. Krimes, 11. Walker, 12. Hodnett, 13. Marks, 14. Henderson, 15. Haas, 16. Leppo, 17. Montieth, 18. Wilt. 19. A. Shaffer, 20. Sell, 21. Stillwaggon, 22. Fraker, 23. Michael, Lafferty (DNS)