Davis Digs Up Another ASCS Canyon Region Win at CSP

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

From Lonnie Wheatley

PEORIA, Ariz. (September 25, 2010) – Charles Davis, Jr., collected his sixth American Sprint Car Series Canyon Region victory of the year by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s 30-lap main event at Canyon Speedway Park.

The reigning series champion climbed forward from his seventh starting position aboard the Massey Motorsports No. 50 en route to his 20th career ASCS Canyon Region triumph.

Davis cross the stripe ahead of Josh Pelkey with Ronnie Clark and Dalten Gabbard both advancing ten positions to finish third and fourth, respectively, after starting alongside in the seventh row.

Mike Martin rounded out the top five, with 19th-starter Bob Ream, Jr., Andrew Reinbold, Bruce St. James, Chris Bonneau and Justin Quinn completing the top ten.

Davis, Stevie Sussx and Quinn topped heat race action.

ASCS Canyon Region Results from Canyon Speedway Park:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 16-Mike Martin, 3. 7k-Bruce St. James, 4. 71-Harris Brooks, 5. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 6. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 7. 32b-Brian Hosford. DNS: 27n-Nick Aiuto.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 62-Stevie Sussex, 2. 20-Shon Deskins, 3. 22-Mike Rux, Jr., 4. 5x-Jody Wirth, 5. 8az-Jordan Stetson, 6. 21-Jeremy Sherman, 7. 8-Bob Ream, Jr. DNS: xxx-Zach Sawyers.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 93-Justin Quinn, 2. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 3. 12-Josh Pelkey, 4. 78-Chris Bonneau, 5. 6-Ronnie Clark, 6. 61x-Chuck Buckman, 7. 79-Curtis Staults.

“A” Feature (30 Laps): 1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 12-Josh Pelkey, 3. 6-Ronnie Clark, 4. 77-Dalten Gabbard, 5. 16-Mike Martin, 6. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 7. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 8. 7k-Bruce St. James, 9. 78-Chris Bonneau, 10. 93-Justin Quinn, 11. 22-Mike Rux, Jr., 12. 32b-Brian Hosford, 13. 8az-Jordan Stetson, 14. 62-Stevie Sussex, 15. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 16. 5x-Jody Wirth, 17. 79-Curtis Staults, 18. 71-Harris Brooks, 19. 61x-Chuck Buckman, 20. 20-Shon Deskins. DNS: 21-Jeremy Sherman, 27n-Nick Aiuto, xxx-Zach Sawyers.

ASCS Canyon Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Charles Davis, Jr. 1,818, 2. Mike Martin 1,613, 3. R.J. Johnson 1,604, 4. Josh Pelkey 1,602, 5. Jeremy Sherman 1,571, 6. Andrew Reinbold 1,506, 7. Ronnie Clark 1,447, 8. Dalten Gabbard 1,311, 9. Brian Hosford 1,220, 10. Stevie Sussex 1,192.