Campbell Garners First Career NCRA Sprint Car Triumph!

National Championship Racing Association


Park City, Kansas – October 09, 2010 – Coming into the next to final event on the 2010 O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car season, current series points leader had yet to reach victory lane in the previous ten events that had been held. But that all changed Saturday night as the former outlaw sprint car veteran took advantage of race long leader Brian Browns misfortune to pick up the 25 lap feature finale victory Saturday night at 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas.

Jonathan Cornell of Sedalia, Missouri started on the pole for the twenty-five lap feature but it was outside front row starter Brown who took the lead at the drop of the green flag. The caution quickly came out when Sherman Davis spun to a stop in turn two.

On the complete restart the outcome was much the same as Brown again jumped into the lead and quickly opened a ten car length advantage over fourth starting Campbell.  While the two front runners began pulling away from the rest of the field, all eyes were on Liberal, Kansas driver Jason Martin. Martin, who started eighth, found the rubber middle portion of the three eighths mile oval to his liking as he began closing in on the leaders. He passed Cornell for third on lap three and set his sights on Campbell for the runner up position on lap eight.

While Brown continued comfortably out front, Campbell and Martin both battled for the second position but just passed the races midway point, a lost cylinder coasted Martin to a stop on the front stretch and brought out the caution.

Only one lap was complete before series regular J.D. Johnson brought out the next yellow flag as he came to a stop at the top of turn four with a blown right rear tire.

This scenario would play out just six laps from the end as Brown, who had as much as a ten car length advantage with ten laps to go, began to slow on lap twenty allowing Campbell to close to his rear bumper. Lap twenty-one was his misfortune as Brown would coast to a stop on the front stretch with a blown right rear tire ending his night.

This gave Campbell, aboard the Danny King owned, #E85 ICM/Ethanol sponsored sprinter, the lead on the restart and despite a late race caution with two laps to go for Jack Dovers blown right rear, held on to take his first career series victory. Cornells first ever series event saw him settle for the runner up position. 2010 Hutchinson Grand Nationals winner Danny Jennings of Norman, Oklahoma started eleventh and brought his Goodyear sponsored Wesmar powered Maxim chassis to a third place finish while C.J. Johnson finished fourth.  Jon Freemans strong season continued as he rounded out the top five.

Heat races for the 37 car field were won by J.D. Johnson, Campbell, C.J. Johnson and Davis while defending series champion Garry Lee Maier brought home the twelve lap “B” feature honors.

The next and final event for the 2010 race season will come this coming Saturday night, October 16, as the series makes their stop at the Kansas State Fairgrounds in Hutchinson, Kansas.

The series would like to thank the following for their partnership with the O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car series for the 2010 race season.

2010 NCRA sprint car sponsors: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Race Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels

2010 NCRA sprint car contingency partners: Arizona Sports Shirts, Airflow Racing Products, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Hooker Harness, Keizer Racing Wheels, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Super Shox, Taylor Cable Products, The Joie of Seating, Ultra-Shield Race Products, Vertex Magnetos and Winters Performance Parts.

ARP Hard Luck: Not given
Saldana Racing Products 2nd Place: Cornell
The Joie of Seating 2nd Place= Cornell
Rod End Supply 3rd Place= Jennings
Super Shox 5th Place= Freeman

A Feature: 1) Jeremy Campbell 2) Jonathan Cornell 3) Danny Jennings 4) C.J. Johnson 5) Jon Freeman 6) Garry Lee Maier 7) Mike Peters 8) Terry Gray 9) Scott Lehman 10) Patrick Stasa 11) Randy Martin 12) Aaron Berryhill 13) Sherman Davis 14) Stuart Snyder 15) Morgan Turpin 16) Jack Dover 17) Luke Cranston 18) Brian Brown 19) Jason Martin 20) J.D. Johnson

1st B Feature: 1) Garry Lee Maier 2) Patrick Stasa 3) Randy Martin 4) Morgan Turpin 5) Brad Graham 6) Tad Holliman 7) Koby Barksdale 8) Kris Miller 9) Whit Gastineau 10) Sheldon Barksdale 11) A.J. Selenke DNS: Jordan Boston, Barry Gifford

2nd B Feature: 1) Mike Peters 2) Scott Lehman 3) Luke Cranston 4) Stuart Snyder 5) Brian Herbert 6) Terry Holliman 7) Kirby Hagens 8) Gavin Punch 9) Brent Swift 10) Roger Sundquist 11) Jordan Whitehead DNS: Marc Robe

1st Heat: 1) J.D. Johnson 2) Jonathan Cornell 3) Morgan Turpin 4) Aaron Berryhill 5) Scott Lehman 6) Whit Gastineau 7) Sheldon Barksdale 8) Kris Miller 9) Koby Barksdale

2nd Heat: 1) Jeremy Campbell 2) Brian Brown 3) Brian Herbert 4) Garry Lee Maier 5) A.J. Selenke 6) Jordan Boston 7) Jordan Whitehead 8) Gavin Punch DNS: Brent Swift

3rd Heat: 1) C.J. Johnson 2) Jack Dover 3) Jason Martin 4) Danny Jennings 5) Luke Cranston 6) Terry Holliman 7)Randy Martin 8) Thad Holliman 9) Brad Graham

4th Heat: 1) Sherman Davis 2) Jon Freeman 3) Terry Gray 4) Mike Peters 5) Patrick Stasa 6) Kirby Hagens 7) Roger Sundquist 8) Marc Robe DNS: Barry Gifford