From Dick Jordan

The USAC “Southeast Sprint Car Series” in 2011 will continue the great tradition of Florida ’s leading short-track open-wheel racing series as the series celebrates its 10th year of operation, featuring the finest asphalt drivers in the southeast.

“ Florida has always been a popular destination for race fans and we are delighted to again bring USAC’s brand to the Sunshine State for this exciting series,” says USAC President/CEO Kevin Miller . “We recognize the importance of pavement Sprint car racing and welcome these participants and fans into our motorsports family.”

Delivering high speed, no-fear racing action for the race fan both on the track and off, the series’ philosophy is to present high speed, heart pounding races for the fans but to also always include the fans with appreciation events such as bicycle giveaways, race simulators and autograph sessions.

The Central Florida Wingless Sprint Car Assoc. conceived in 2002 by Michael and Carla Rudolph, the series was designed to put the competition back into the hands of the drivers and to offer affordable racing to both the veterans and newcomers to the sport.

Champions of the Central Florida Wingless Sprint Car Association include 2009 co-champs Dakotah Stephens and Troy DeCaire, Jim Alvis (2008), Dennis Misuraca (2007), Scott Adema (2006), Charlie Linder (2005), Curtis Carter (2004), Tommy Nichols (2003) and Kevin Cahill (2002).

USAC’s Florida history includes competition in a number of different series, including the recent Bubba Army Sprint Car Nationals and quarter midget competition, with venues ranging from Orlando ’s Walt Disney World complex to Homestead’s high-speed oval. Of significant note is that USAC’s inaugural Sprint car race was held in Florida , a race held at West Palm Beach in 1956 won by Bob Sweikert, the previous year’s Indianapolis 500 champion.

The 2011 USAC Southeast Sprint Car Series calendar of events is currently being constructed and will be released when firm.