Steve Inch

SELINSGROVE, Pa. – Defending champion Pat Cannon of Etters soared to a
four-second margin of victory over Larry Kelleher of Scranton on a smooth,
“glass-top” racing surface in Saturday night’s 25-lap 358 sprint car
feature at Selinsgrove Speedway.

For Cannon, at the wheel of the Highlands’ Tire & Service Center No. 3, the
victory marked the second of the season and 29th of his career at the

Jeff Rine of Danville took the checkered flag for the third time this
season in the 25-lap late model feature. The victory marked the 67th of
Rine’s career at the speedway and moves him within two wins of tying Bobby
Croop’s all-time win record of 69.

Tim Krape of Bellefonte won his 19th career race in the 15-lap pro stock
feature, while Brad Mitch of McClure took the win in the 12-lap roadrunner

Selinsgrove Speedway will be in action two times over the Memorial Day
holiday, including a four division show of 358 sprint cars, late models,
pro stocks, and roadrunners on Saturday, May 28, followed by an open wheel
doubleheader featuring the 410 sprint cars and super sportsman on Sunday,
May 29. Race time is 7 p.m. both nights.

Front row starter Bob Beidleman stormed into the lead at the start of the
sprint car feature and was chased by polesitter Ryan Kissinger for the
first lap. On the second circuit, sixth-place starter Pat Cannon powered
into the runner up position and began to reel in Beidleman.

On lap three, the number three driven by Cannon took command of the field
with an inside pass in turn four. Cannon quickly stretched his lead to more
than a straightaway on the ultra-fast track surface, while Beidleman held

Approaching the halfway point, Cannon led 11th-place starter Larry
Kelleher, Beidleman, and third-place starter Eric Tomacek. On the 13th lap,
Matt Heimbach, while racing seventh, made a sudden impact with the outside
turn four wall and flipped over. Thankfully, M. Heimbach walked away from
the horrific-looking crash.

When the race resumed, Cannon continued to set a torrid pace with Kelleher
in tow. Current point leader Blane Heimbach, who started 12th, began to
close in on Kelleher in the second half of the race. At the finish, Cannon
was victorious by four seconds over Kelleher, B. Heimbach, 10th-place
starter TJ Stutts, and fourth-place starter Jessica Anderson.

Second-place starter Troy Miller held the early lead in the late model
feature. Third-place starter Kyle Rhoads and fourth-place Dave Zona were in
close pursuit until 10th-place starter Jeff Rine began to show some speed
and moved into the runner up position on lap six. A lap later, Rine made
the winning pass using the outside lane in turn two and began to streak
away from the field.

Fifth-place starter Chad Davis advanced to second, while Rhoads,
eighth-place starter Steve Campbell, and Miller raced in the top five. In
the final laps, both Campbell and current point leader Jim Yoder made a
charge after Rine to no avail. At the finish, Rine was victorious by 1.2
seconds. Mike Walls and Tony Adams finished fourth and fifth, respectively.

Third-place starter Dave Brouse Jr. took the lead at the drop of the green
flag in the pro stock feature. Brouse was trailed by second-place starter
Devin Frey for the first three laps. On the fifth circuit, seventh-place
starter Shaun Miller threaded the needle between Brouse and polesitter Tim
Krape in turn three for the lead.

Brouse reclaimed the lead on lap six, only to be passed by Krape on the
frontstretch on lap seven for the front spot. Krape led for the duration of
the event and posted a mere one-second margin of victory over Miller, AJ
Stroup, point leader AJ Hoffman, and Jason Smith.

Nate Romig led the first lap of the roadrunner feature until ninth-place
starter Bob Bussey powered into the lead with a pass in turn four on the
second circuit. At the same time Bussey took command of the field,
10th-place starter Brad Mitch moved into second.

Bussey and Mitch broke away from the field in a battle for the lead. On a
lap nine restart, Mitch made the winning pass in turns one and two and went
on to post a five-second margin of victory over Bussey, Brandon Shultz, Rob
Pyle, and Corey Collier.

358 Sprint Cars – 28 Entries
25-Lap A-Main: 1) 3 Pat Cannon 2) 76 Larry Kelleher 3) 12 Blane Heimbach 4)
23M TJ Stutts 5) 71 Jessica Anderson 6) 1 Mark Smith 7) 56 Nate Snyder 8)
81 Bob Beidleman 9) 1W Eric Tomacek 10) 19 Colby Womer 11) 77 Derek Locke
12) 99K Cody Keller 13) 5W Phil Walter 14) 66 Ryan Kissinger 15) 8R Michael
Ruttkamp 16) 1M Jason Shultz 17) 16H Matt Horst 18) 21 Duane Mausteller 22)
74 Matt Heimbach 23) 38 Scott Wilson 24) 80R Dan Richcreek
Heat Winners: Ryan Kissinger, Nate Snyder, Pat Cannon
Consolation: Colby Womer