Monster Energy™ Sprint Series Hits Brownstown Friday!


By Bill W

May 25 , 2011 – The Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series embarks on the Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Illinois this Friday night to contest “Round 3” in their campaign! The banked ¼ mile will be the third different track to host the series presented by the Midwest Open Wheel Association, and there is a good chance we will see the third different winner.

Terry McCarl won last week’s “Round 2” at the Jacksonville Speedway in Jacksonville, Illinois in exciting fashion. A late race move getting by race-long leader, Jimmy Hurley, brought a large crowd to their feet. Hurley finished a solid second, and Brian Brown rounded out the podium finishers.

Danny Lasoski won the season opener back in April at the 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa. Kaley Gharst drove from 18th to 2nd in that one ahead of Joey Moughan.

McCarl’s win has put him atop the current point standings, followed by Joey Moughan and Hurley. Korey Weyant is fourth and Jerrod Hull is fifth. Chris Urish, Jeremy Standridge, Ben Wagoner, Robbie Standridge and Jim Moughan Jr. round out the top ten.

Many of the Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series contenders are looking forward to the challenge of invading the bullring in Brownstown! On Friday afternoon, from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m. meet and greet our drivers at the IGA Grocery Store in Vandalia, Illinois.

Gates open at 5 p.m. on Friday, with hot laps scheduled for 7 p.m. and racing to follow. Tickets are $15 for ages 13 and up, $5 for ages 8 to 12 with a paid adult, and kids 7 and under are FREE with a paid adult. For more information on Fayette County Speedway, visit!

To check out more information on upcoming events, Rules and Procedures, Drivers, Schedules, Updates and More for the Monster Energy Sprint Car Series presented by the Midwest Open Wheel Association, visit the series’ website at!

Videos from “Round 2” at Jacksonville and a Preview for Brownstown!

The links…



Tentative Driver List for Brownstown (Subject to Change)

1m, Jim Moughan Jr., Springfield, IL

4K, Kody Kinser, Bloomington, IN

5, Tiffany Wyzard, Williamsville, IL

o5, Brad Loyet, Sunset Hills, MO

6, Ryan Beechler, McKinney, TX

10s, Jeremy Standridge, Springfield, IL

21x, Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL

22, Robbie Standridge, Springfield, IL

28, Justin Springer, Pekin, IL

35, Jimmy Hurley, Springfield, IL

42, Cory Bruns, Lincoln, IL

44, AJ Bruns, Lincoln, IL

47, Brett Samonds, Springfield, IL

65, Jordan Goldesberry, Springfield, IL

83, Korey Weyant, Springfield, IL

84, Ben Wagoner, Emden, IL

90, Patrick Budde, Bartelso, IL

95, Tommy Rockwell, Towanda, IL

96, Nathan Charron, Lincoln, IL

98, JC Bland, Springfield, IL

Updated Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Point Standings (top 20)

Pos. Number Name Hometown Points

1. 55 Terry McCarl Altoona, IA 170
2. 21x Joey Moughan Springfield, IL 142
3. 35 Jimmy Hurley Springfield, IL 132
4. 83 Korey Weyant Springfield, IL 131
5. 12 Jerrod Hull Sikeston, MO 128
6. 77u Chris Urish Elkhart, IL 123
7. 10s Jeremy Standridge Springfield, IL 119
8. 84 Ben Wagoner Emden, IL 118
9. 22 Robbie Standridge Springfield, IL 117
10. 1m Jim Moughan Jr. Springfield, IL 116
11. 44 AJ Bruns Lincoln, IL 102
12. 51 Mike Hess Springfield, IL 92
13. 33 Danny Lasoski Dover, MO 88

14. 52F Logan Faucon Elkhart, IL 79

53H Matt Harms Lacon, IL 79

16. 47 Brett Samonds Springfield, IL 75

65 Jordan Goldesberry Springfield, IL 75

18. 22 Brett Tripplett Lincoln, IL 69

19. 99 Jimmy Davies Oquawka, IL 66

20. 17A Austin McCarl Altoona, IA 65

42 Cory Bruns Lincoln, IL 65

2011 Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Tentative Schedule

Saturday, April 23 – 34 Raceway – $2,500 to win (Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO)

Friday, May 20 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win (Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA)

Friday, May 27 – Fayette County Speedway (Brownstown, IL)

Friday, June 17 – Tri-City Speedway – $2,000 to win (Pontoon Beach, IL)

Saturday, June 18 – St. Francois County Raceway (Farmington, MO)

Friday, July 1 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win Leon Smith Memorial (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, July 8 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Saturday, July 30 – Macon Speedway (Macon, IL)

Sunday, July 31 – Shepp’s Speedway (Alexander, IL)

Friday, August 19 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, September 2 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Saturday, September 17 – Spoon River Speedway – Tom Knowles Memorial (Canton, IL)

Saturday, September 24 – 34 Raceway – $4,000 to win (West Burlington, IA)

Sunday, September 25 – LaSalle Speedway – co-sanctioned with IRA (LaSalle, IL)

Friday, September 30 – Jacksonville Speedway – Season Championship (Jacksonville, IL)