Lasoski Takes ASCS Midwest Loot at McCool Junction!

From Lonnie Wheatley

McCOOL JUNCTION, Neb. (May 27, 2011) – One night after chasing Brown to the stripe at I-80 Speedway, “The Dude” prevailed this time by snaring his second ASCS Regional feature win of the year aboard the Kistler-powered Creason Pipeline Service/Michael Ross Foundation No. 33 Eagle.

For the second night in a row, the redraw landed Brown and Lasoski side-by-side on the front row. And, just like Thursday night, Brown gunned into the lead at the drop of the green flag. He wouldn’t lead all the way this time though.

Lasoski, just one week away from being inducted into the National Sprint Car Hall of Fame, powered by Brown on the top side of turns one and two on the fourth round and led the rest of the way.

After fending off several challenges, the race was interrupted for the only time after 21 laps when the red flag flew for an Isaac Schreurs flip. Lasoski slipped away on the restart to win comfortably over Brown.

Behind the lead duo, seventh-starter Shane Stewart moved up to fourth in the initial seven rounds and diced with Wayne Johnson before taking third on the 21st circuit. Johnson battled back into the show position on the white flag lap, with Stewart settling for fourth.

California native Justyn Cox, just four days shy of his 17th birthday, posted his best ASCS finish since a Rocky Mountain win in August of 2009 at Casper, WY, by rounding out the top five in a second Brian Brown entry.

Chad Humston was sixth, with Ryan Roberts, Jordan Boston, Ryan Bickett and Brady Bacon completing the top ten.

Johnson, Cox, Lasoski and Brown topped heat race action for the 30-car field, with Don Droud, Jr., winning the “B” Main.

Mark Pace’s night came to an early end when he climbed a wheel in flipped in turn three on the opening lap of the first heat race. Pace was uninjured.

The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region will next be in action in conjunction with the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by K&N Filters National series at Eagle Raceway’s Eagle Nationals on June 10-11.

Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Results from Junction Motor Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 38-Wayne Johnson, 2. 28-Mitch Runge, 3. 17B-Ryan Bickett, 4. 82-Jason Danley, 5. 6G-Bryan Gossel, 6. 14G-Gene Ackland, 7. 11-Chad Corken, 8. 31-Mark Pace.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 21c-Justyn Cox, 2. 1m-Chad Humston, 3. 57-Shane Stewart, 4. 18-Ryan Roberts, 5. 2A-Randy Hibbs, 6. 71R-Ryan Anderson, 7. 17-Gage Dorr, 8. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher.

Third Heat (8 Laps): 1. 33-Danny Lasoski, 2. 53-Jack Dover, 3. 99-Brady Bacon, 4. 2-Don Droud, Jr., 5. 4J-Lee Grosz, 6. 2L-Logan Forler, 7. 1-Bronson Maeschen.

Fourth Heat (8 Laps): 1. 21-Brian Brown, 2. 4-Jordan Boston, 3. 22-Billy Alley, 4. 75-Tommy Barber, 5. 612-Isaac Schreurs, 6. 0-Jeff Osborn, 7. 6-Nick Bryan.

“B” Main (10 Laps): 1. 2-Don Droud, Jr., 2. 4J-Lee Grosz, 3. 612-Isaac Schreurs, 4. 1-Bronson Maeschen, 5. 71R-Ryan Anderson, 6. 6G-Bryan Gossel, 7. 2L-Logan Forler, 8. 82-Jason Danley, 9. 11-Chad Corken, 10. 14G-Gene Ackland, 11. 17-Gage Dorr, 12. 35-Trevor Grossenbacher, 13. 0-Jeff Osborn, 14. 6-Nick Bryan. DNS: 2A-Randy Hibbs, 31-Mark Pace.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 33-Danny Lasoski, 2. 21-Brian Brown, 3. 38-Wayne Johnson, 4. 57-Shane Stewart, 5. 21c-Justyn Cox, 6. 1M-Chad Humston, 7. 18-Ryan Roberts, 8. 4-Jordan Boston, 9. 17B-Ryan Bickett, 10. 99-Brady Bacon, 11. 53-Jack Dover, 12. 1-Bronson Maeschen, 13. 22-Billy Alley, 14. 4J-Lee Grosz, 15. 2-Don Droud, Jr., 16. 71R-Ryan Anderson, 17. 75-Tommy Barber, 18. 28-Mitch Runge, 19. 612-Isaac Schreurs, 20. 6G-Bryan Gossel.

Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Brian Brown 584, 2. Wayne Johnson 529, 3. Jack Dover 498, 4. Lee Grosz 457, 5. Don Droud, Jr. 452, 6. (tie) Ryan Anderson and Justyn Cox 424, 8. Ryan Roberts 422, 9. Billy Alley 393, 10. Danny Lasoski 386.

Photo Gallery