Lang Takes ASCS Lone Star Win at Kilgore!

Lonnie Wheatley

KILGORE, Texas (June 11, 2011) – Michael Lang captured his first career American Sprint Car Series feature win by racing to victory lane in Saturday night’s 25-lap The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star main event at Lone Star Speedway.

Lang gunned into the lead at the outset and led all the way aboard the Palm Harbor Homes No. 14 to post the victory.

Lang was chased to the stripe by Chad Wilson, with current Lone Star points leader Matt Covington, defending champion Eric Baldaccini and 11th-starter Kevin Ramey rounding out the top five.

Gary Floyd was sixth, with Justin Melton, Claud Estes, Evan Pardo and Martin Edwards completing the top ten.

Baldaccini and Wilson won the heat races.

The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region Results from Lone Star Speedway:

First Heat (8 Laps): 1. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 2. 45-Martin Edwards, 3. 58-Gary Floyd, 4. 74e-Claud Estes, 5. 11-Justin Melton, 6. 54-Evan Pardo, 7. 76-John Ricketts, 8. 14b-Robert Byrom, 9. 33-Mark Huddleston.

Second Heat (8 Laps): 1. 20-Chad Wilson, 2. 11c-Matt Covington, 3. 14-Michael Lang, 4. 12-Dale Wester, 5. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 6. 40-Junior Jenkins, 7. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 8. 8a-Alan Myers.

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 14-Michael Lang, 2. 20-Chad Wilson, 3. 11c-Matt Covington, 4. 4-Eric Baldaccini, 5. 7m-Kevin Ramey, 6. 58-Gary Floyd, 7. 11-Justin Melton, 8. 74e-Claud Estes, 9. 54-Evan Pardo, 10. 45-Martin Edwards, 11. 0c-Preston Peebles II, 12. 76-John Ricketts, 13. 14b-Robert Byrom, 14. 40-Junior Jenkins, 15. 33-Mark Huddleston, 16. 12-Dale Wester. DNS: 8a-Alan Myers.

The Oil Medics ASCS Lone Star Region Points (Top Ten): 1. Matt Covington 795, 2. Claud Estes 724, 3. Eric Baldaccini 707, 4. Martin Edwards 673, 5. Justin Melton 665, 6. Michael Lang 663, 7. Evan Pardo 639, 8. Chad Wilson 619, 9. John Ricketts 604, 10. Junior Jenkins 600.