ASCS Midwest Tangles with ASCS Warriors at U.S. 36 Raceway on Friday!

ASCS Midwest Region American Sprint Car Series Logo

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (June 13, 2011) – After mixing it up with the Lucas Oil ASCS National forces at this past weekend’s Eagle Nationals, the Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region takes on another challenge this weekend.

On Friday night, the Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region takes on the Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region in U.S. 36 Raceway’s annual Bud Shootout near Cameron, MO.

The Midwest forces come off a strong weekend in which Springfield, Nebraska’s Jack Dover took a late lead away from fellow Nebraska shoe Jordan Boston to win the Eagle Nationals.

With his fifth career National win and first of the year, Dover moved atop the Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest point charts by just three points over Oklahoma City native Wayne Johnson. Missouri’s Brian Brown holds down third in Midwest points, with North Dakota’s Lee Grosz and Nebraska’s Ryan Roberts rounding out the current top five.

The Warriors, on the other hand, are led into Friday by a pair of young guns tied atop the point charts, Brad Loyet and Mark Shirshekan. Loyet of Sunset Hills, MO, and Shirshekan of Farmington, MO, are deadlocked after two events with the rest of the top five including Randy Martin, Tyler Blank and Kyle Bellm.

Jack Dover topped the ASCS Midwest event versus Warriors last June at U.S. 36 Raceway, while Bronson Maeschen scored a Regional win as well in July.

Friday’s racing action atop the high-banked, 3/8-mile U.S. 36 Raceway clay oval is set to fire off at 8:00 p.m.

U.S. 36 Raceway is located 50 miles northeast of Kansas City on I-35 to Exit 54, then 6.3 miles west on U.S. 36, then 0.1 mile north on SR 33. For more information, contact the track at 816-675-2279.

The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 22 nights of competition at a seven throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota, Iowa and Minnesota.

Past ASCS Midwest Winners at U.S. 36 Raceway:

7/16/10 – Bronson Maeschen

6/18/10 – Jack Dover

6/19/09 – Jesse Hockett

7/11/08 – Jack Dover

9/7/07 – Jesse Hockett

9/8/06 – Chris Morgan

6/23/06 – Toby Chapman

9/9/05 – Johnny Anderson

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at