Nostalgia Night highlights Fab Four Racing this Friday

lernerville speedway
lernerville speedway

By Eric Westendorf

July 21, 2011 (Sarver, PA) Wow! The 20th edition of the Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup was an amazing night of racing! From the capacity crowd to the star power of Tony Stewart and Kasey Kahne and from the triumphs of Tim Shaffer and Dale Blaney to the horrific crash involving Brian Ellenberger and Brandon Matus, if the Silver Cup Twin 30s didn’t make the hair stand up on the back of your neck, you should probably see a paramedic for a pulse!

Budweiser points leaders Brian Ellenberger in the Ti22 Performance DIRTcar Sprints, took a wild ride at the beginning of the second World of Outlaws A-Main, flipping wildy into the wall, then getting pinballed by several would-be passersby. The final blow came from third generation star Brandon Matus, technically starting his second World of Outlaws A-Main, after using a track provisional to start the first A-Main. Matus took the worst of the contact and shot straight across the track towards the infield. Amazingly both drivers walked away, but their 410 chariots were not so fortunate! Ellenberger will most likely be ready to go, but Matus is still up in the air. His spare is ready, but will evaluate his health tomorrow before making a final decision whether or not to race. As tough as a Matus is though, good money says “The Wheelman” will be at the wheel of his family-owned #13 tomorrow night!

With the Firecracker 100 and Silver Cup Twin 30s in the rearview mirror for 2011, the Diehl Auto Group DIRTcar Northeast Big Block Modifieds take a turn in the spotlight tomorrow night for the prestigious Joe Pitkavish Memorial. Joe Pitkavish was the longtime car owner of Hall of Famer Blackie Watt, so it’s fitting that Nostalgia Night has been rescheduled for the same night as the Pitkavish Memorial. Jeremiah Shingledecker leads the Budweiser points and is the defending event winner, but All Time division wins leader Brian Swartzlander is coming off his 72nd career win last Friday Night. Kevin Bolland and Dave Murdick will also be favorites to take home the checkers in memory of Joe Pitkavish.

Local media icon Don Gamble continues to find new and creative ways to promote local racing, most recently on Tuesday Night by teaming with Jeff Waller of Production Consulting Group to do two hours of pre-race interviews to help promote the Silver Cup and local racing in general. The video edition of the legendary Rappin’ on Racin’ can be viewed at UStream.TV by searching “Rappin on Racin”.

Don’s hard work and tireless promotion of local racing continues tomorrow night as dozens of your favorite drivers from days gone by return to the Action Track for Nostalgia Night. Below is a list of confirmed and invited drivers, as well as several classic and nostalgic race cars that will be on display tomorrow night under the main grandstands and the expanded vendor area.

Lernerville Speedway Nostalgia Night Scheduled Guests (Names in Bold confirmed)

Dick Bailey, 2010 HoF, Modifieds, Super Modifieds, Sprints, Late Models, 30 years,

Ray Baselj Sprint Cars

Ralph Bateykefer, #5 Semi-Lates

Skip Bertges #34 Late Models

Paul Brougher #55 Coupes

Mark Cassella 2011 Hall of Fame, 1989 & 1994 Sprint Champion

Harley Chuba #66 Late Model

Lou Gentile, 2011 Hall of Fame, 1986, 87, 88, 91, 92 Six Cylinder Modified Champion

Howie Goss #12 Late Model

Harry Hein #90 Coupes

Doc Harmon #20 Modified

Kenny & Kevin Harris #33 Street Stock

Mark Harvanek, 1978 Street Stock Champion

Dave Hess, Late Model Champion 1980 & 1983

Dave Hoffman, 2010 Hall of Fame, 1975-1977 & 1991 Late Model Champion

Larry Johnston #55 Modified

George Leon, Team owner for the 8 Ball cars of Herb Scott & Bob Wearing

Andy Lutz, Claimers, Coupes, Six Cylinder Modifieds, and Sprint Cars

Ed Lynch Sr. 2010 Lernerville HoF, Champion 1990 Sprints, 1973, 1976-77 Modifieds

Rick Majors 1985 Six Cylinder Modified Champ

Jim Magill #711 Coupes and Sprint Cars

Jerry Matus 2011 Hall of Fame, 1981, 83, 84 Sprint Champion

Dave McMillin, raced in the 60s. He raced a semi-late until 1973.

Dave Meloy Late Models

Chuck McDowell 1974 Street Stock Champion

Ron McIntyre Car 26, Street Stock, Semi Late and Late Model 1966-1988

Dave Mohn #60 Semi Lates

Mark Muehlman Pure Stocks

Carl Murdick 1970 Modified Champion

Art Osmer #6 Six Cylinder Coupes and Late Models

Dunk Packdozi, car owner, 6 time Lernerville Late Model Champion Bob Wearing Sr.

Barry Peters 1988 Limited Late Champion

Ralph Quarterson Lernerville 2010 HoF, Champ 1968, 69, 71 Sprints & 1971 Modifieds

Frank Raiti 1970 Sprint Champion

Dave Rupp 1975 Street Stock Champion

Deek Scott 1979 Modified Champion

Smokey Schempp #75 & 35 Semi Lates

Gus Sholich #44 Semi-Lates

Jack Sodeman 1979 Sprint Champion, 1985 Modified Champion, competed 30 years

Bob Stanford #98 Modified and PCTC Senior Series Champion

Darwin Stivason Coupe #60 & 18, Claimer #60, 1964-1967 Go Karts 1983-1985

Dick Swartzlander 1969, 70 Lernerville Late Model Champion, 2009 Hall of Fame

Bruce Taylor #15 Modified

Dave Thompson 1968 Late Model Champion

Jim & Tom Valasek 1983 Street Stock Champion

Larry Walters, Coupes & Late Models

Blackie Watt 2009 HoF, Champ 1982, 87 Late Models 1972, 74, 75, 82, 84, Modifieds

Bill Wheeling Modifieds, Sprints, and Senior Series Champion

Nostalgia Cars scheduled to be on display

Paul Backus (Deek Modified #7A)

Lynn Geisler (Webster PRA #7)

Howie Goss (1957 Chevy 12J)

Jorn (Yawn) Jenson, (#28 Race Car)

Andy Lutz (Coupe #86)

Jerry McDowell (Sprint #22)

Junior Radvansky (Midget Race Car)

Tom Robertson (Scott #180 Coupe)

Darwin Stivenson (# 0 Chevy Coupe & #61 Coupe)

Bob Stanford (1983 Porsche mid engine 427 Chevy

In addition to the Ti22 Sprints and Diehl Mods listed above, the Precise Late Models and Pic-A-Part Sportsman will be back in action during Fab Four Racing. Dave Hess Jr. is the Bud points leader and most recent feature winner in the Precise Lates, while Mike Miller leads the Bud points and Chris Schneider is the most recent feature winner in the Pic-A-Part Sportsman. As always gates open at 5:00, racing starts at 7:30 sharp and kids 10 & under are always FREE! Enjoy the Show!