Living Legends Dream Race This Week

Port Royal Speedway Logo

By Shawn Brouse

Port Royal – The “Living Legends” Dream Race 5 is on tap this Saturday, August 6 at Port Royal Speedway with gates opening at 4 PM and time trials slated for 7:30 PM.

The race will pay at least $12,000 to win for 40-laps of work with another $12,000 posted for the Dream Race Challenge in memory of Marion Ritzman.

In order to claim the $24,000, one of the front row starters must opt to start the race in the 24th position and then move forward to claim the victory.

A stellar field of competition is expected for the prestigious event with no other mid-state track hosting the 410 sprints on Saturday night. In total, the one night posted possible purse eclipses $60,000.

With the race named this year to honor Living Legends, driver Keith Kauffman and retired car owner Walt Dyer, an autograph session with the men as well as hosts of former Kauffman car owners and Dyer drivers will get underway behind the grandstand at 5 PM.

Just some of the owners slated to appear include Al Hamilton, Leon Wintermyer, Bob Stewart and Maynard Boop along with Kauffman mentor Lynn Paxton and primary sponsor John Groninger.

For Dyer, the list includes John Ebersole, Don Hill, Steve Siegel, Van May, Scott Tobias, Jim Sheaffer, Smokey Snellbaker, Mike Wagner and many more including his most successful pilot, Lance Dewease.

Dewease will campaign a replica No. 461 Dyer Brickmobile in the event to honor his former owner.

Dewease’s mount for the night along with two other restored No. 461 sprints will be on display behind the grandstand before the race along with Kauffman’s restored Blue Deuce, which he began his career with in 1970.

Also on display will be the Hamilton Motorsports No. 77 driven this season by Aaron Ott but formerly wheeled by Kauffman in the 1980s. Kauffman’s current mount, the Heckman No. 8H will also be on display.

The first 1,000 fans entering the grandstand will receive a Dream Race 5 grease rag courtesy of the Thompsontown Corner Deli.

Time trials, heats and a dash will determine staring lineups for the night. Heats and the dash will each be worth $300 to win. Fast time will be worth at least $1,000, and a full B Main purse is up for grabs as well.

Contingency prizes will be awarded to the second through fifth finishers in the heat races. A Hard Charger Award in memory of Ed Swartz worth more than $1,000 will also be granted in the feature.

Courtesy of Pasquariello’s Auto Shop of Northhampton, the leader of lap 27 in the Dream Race will receive $270.

The “Living Legends” Dream Race 5 is sponsored by Brown’s Funeral Home, Mifflintown; First National Bank, Mifflintown; Lingle’s Distributing, Lewistown,, Bohemia, NY., and Terry and Shane Ritzman, Millerstown.

Additional sponsorship comes from: Tilton Hilton, Ken’s Coins & Jewelry, 21st Century Fireplace, Jack Gaughen Hower & Associates, C. H. Burns Inc., RE Davidson & Sons, Grid Iron Pub, Juniata Beverage, Pasquariello’s Auto Shop, York County Racing Club and Thompsontown Corner Deli along with numerous individual race benefactors.

Contingency products and sponsorship for the Living Legends Dream Race comes from: Competition Tire East, Reading; Rider Racing Engines, Mechanicsburg; Ti22 Performance, Zelienople; Moose Blocks, New Oxford; Penske Shocks, Reading; DMI, Lancaster; Goshorn’s Racing Supplies, Blairs Mills; VRP Shocks, Temple; Cargo Trailer Service & Sales, Lansdale; Insinger Fuels, Dushore.

Adult general admission for the event will be $27.00 with students ages 12 – 17 admitted for just $10.00

Previous Dream Race winners: Sean Michael, 2007; Greg Hodnett, 2008; Cody Darrah, 2009; Chad Layton, 2010.

2011 Dream Race Contingency Prizes

$300 to win heats courtesy CH Burns, RE Davidson & Son and Terry & Shane Ritzman

Prizes for 2nd – 5th in heat races including: right rear tires, $100 DMI certificates, racing fuel and more.

$300 to win dash courtesy York County Racing Club in memory of Paul Miller

$1,000+ fast time award

$100 bonus for first non-qualifier courtesy BLT

$1,000+ Hard Charger Award in memory of Ed Swartz

$270 to leader of lap 27 courtesy Pasquariello’s Auto Shop

1 set Penske Shocks to a lucky time-trialer

PRS 2011 – Racing into a new decade with a new attitude!
Port Royal Speedway