Brian Bell streaks to career-first USCS win at Clayhill


From Pete Walton

Atwood, TN — (August 13, 2011) — Young gun Brian Bell from Cordova, Tennessee charged past early race leader Mike Hampton from McKenzie, Tennessee into the lead on lap nine and never looked back on his way to the USCS victory lane to capture his career-first USCS win in the 30-lap United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear feature race at Clayhill Motorsports on Saturday night. Bell survived three caution periods on laps eleven, twelve and thirteen before streaking to a full straight-away lead over the previous night’s winner, Jerrod Hull from Sikeston, Missouri during the final seventeen caution free laps.

Bell crossed the finish line in his potent #23 FSR Racing Products winged sprint car ahead of Hull and 2008 USCS Mid-South regional Champion Tim Crawley from Benton Arkansas in the K&N Filters third place position. Hampton held on for his career-best USCS sprint car finish in fourth position. Behind him, the 2008 USCS presented by Goodyear Rookie of the Year, Anthony Nicholson from Bartlett, Tennessee rounded out the top five drivers finishing in the Keizer Aluminum Wheels fifth position.

Behind that group 2006 USCS Rookie of the Year and 2011 USCS feature winner, Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas finished sixth followed by 2008 USCS presented by Goodyear Mid South region Rookie of the Year Jerod Roller from Hernando, Mississippi in seventh position. Defending series Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee was eighth followed by the race’s only female sprint car driver, eighteen year-old Morgan Turpen from Cordova, Tennessee in ninth and Current USCS rookie point’s leader Jordan Mallett from Greenbrier, Arkansas completed the DMI/Diversified Machine, Inc. top ten.

Anthony Nicholson accumulated the most passing/qualifying points in the process. He then started his #16 in sixth position after drawing a six in the K&N Filters Pole Award drawing. This placed 2010 USCS National Rookie of the Year, Morgan Turpen in the K&N Filters Pole Position. Mike Hampton started outside of the front row. The eventual feature winner, Brian Bell started third with Hull outside row two.

Jerrod Hull kicked off the evening’s sprint car racing program by winning the 6-cars, 6-lap Goodyear USCS Speed Dash. Hull also won the Engler Machine and Tool first Heat. Brian Bell won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat Race. Jerod Roller was the Wilwood Engineering Hard Charger in the main event after he advanced ten positions in the main event. Jordon Mallett from Greenbrier, Arkansas was the Rookie of the Race.

Results for USCS presented by Goodyear at Clayhill Motorsports – August 13, 2011:

USCS Goodyear Power Dash (6-laps): Jerrod Hull, Terry Gray, Tim Crawley, Jerod Roller, Morgan Turpen and Jordon Mallett.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Winner = Jerrod Hull, Anthony Nicholson, Dewayne Prince, Mike Hampton, Clint Weiss, Tony Wilson, Jeff Willingham, Jerod Roller and Ronny Howard..

Butlerbuilt Second Heat: Winner = Brian Bell, Tim Crawley, Terry Gray, Derek Hagar, Morgan Turpen, Jordon Mallett, Jim Perricone, Ray Bugg and Justin Webb.

United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear feature race results:

Clayhill Motorsports 8/13/11 (30-laps):

Finish Start Car Driver/Hometown

1 3 23 Brian Bell, Cordova, TN

2 4 12 Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO

3 5 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR

4 2 20 Mike Hampton, McKenzie, TN

5 6 16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN

6 9 94 Derek Hagar, Marion, AR

7 17 5 Jerod Roller, Olive Branch, MS

8 7 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN

9 1 80 Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN

10 12 14 Jordan Mallett, Greenbrier, AR – Rookie

11 16 31 Justin Webb, Drummonds, TN

12 8 16p Dewayne Prince, Munford, TN

13 14 10p Jim Perricone, San Antonio, TX

14 13 28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS

15 10 Ox Clint Weiss, Elizabethtown, KY

16 11 15 Tony Wilson, Paris, TN

17 18 44 Ronny Howard, Nesbit, MS

18 15 25 Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS

USCS presented by Goodyear Sprint Car Race Awards:

Goodyear Speed Dash winner award: #Jerrod Hull

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat winner award: #12 Jerrod Hull

Butlerbuilt Second Heat winner award: # 23 Brian Bell

K&N Filters Pole Award: #80 Morgan Turpen

Wilwood Eng. Hard Charger Award: #5 Jerod Roller (started 17th finished 7th )

JE Pistons Top Guns Award: #16 Anthony Nicholson (5th place)

K&N Filters Podium Award: #88 Tim Crawley (3rd place)

Keizer Wheels Top Five Award: #16 Anthony Nicholson

Diversified Machine Inc/DMI Top 10 Award: #31 Jordan Mallett