Hank Arnold Memorial for ASCS Canyon Region this Weekend!

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

By Lonnie Wheatley

TULSA, Okla. (August 29, 2011) – A big weekend is on tap for the wingless racers of the Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region as the series takes to Tucson’s 3/8-mile USA Raceway for the Hank Arnold Memorial on Saturday and Sunday.

There’s also some unfinished business for the ASCS Canyon Region to take of as well, with the running of the feature event from July 3 making for three “A” feature events over the course of the two-night event.

The 15 cars that were on hand for the July 3 event that was cut short by inclement weather are eligible for the makeup feature event, with the rest of the card open to all comers. Chris Bonneau and Stevie Sussex are the scheduled front row starters for the makeup feature.

Currently holding a 106-point advantage in his quest for a third ASCS Canyon Region championship, Jeremy Sherman topped the final night of last year’s Hank Arnold Memorial after R.J. Johnson won the opening night. Sherman also won four consecutive Arnold Memorial events from 2004 to 2007.

After Sherman’s 2007 win, Andrew Reinbold won the final Hank Arnold Memorial held at Manzanita in 2008 before Rick Ziehl topped the first edition of the event at USA Raceway in 2009.

Sherman currently leads two-time and defending champion Charles Davis, Jr., in the points chase, with Johnson, Reinbold and Ronnie Clark rounding out the top five. The balance of the top ten includes Bruce St. James, Mike Martin, Josh Pelkey, Justin Quinn and Ryan Linder.

Racing action gets under way at 6:45 p.m. on both Saturday and Sunday at USA Raceway.

The 3/8-mile USA Raceway clay oval is located east of Tucson off I-10 Exit 268, then 1.6 mile south on Craycroft Road, which turns into Los Reales. For more information, contact the track at 520-574-8515.

The Sunoco Fuel ASCS Canyon Region brings the best of wingless Sprint Car racing action to fans in Arizona with 19 scheduled nights of competition at Tucson’s USA Raceway and Peoria’s Canyon Speedway Park.

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com.