Anderson Speedway

From Anderson Speedway

ANDERSON, Ind. (April 26, 2012) – Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, April 28 and Sunday, April 29. On Saturday night, featured divisions include McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, EDCO Welding Street Stocks along with G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drives in Oval and Figure 8 action.

On Sunday afternoon, April 29th, Sprint Cars and Midgets will return to the quarter-mile oval under the USSA sanction. The USSA Sprint Cars will be showcased in the 100-lap Glen Niebel Classic while the Mel Kenyon Midgets will compete in a 30-lap feature event.

Heading into Saturday’s night action, veteran campaigner Joe Beaver paces the MEP Late Models after scoring the opening night victory on April 7. Early season challengers include Rob Allman, Nick Moore, former Super Truck standout Fred Hopkins and newcomer John Cave.

Jimmy Kirby won the initial EDCO Welding Street Stock event and leads 2011 division runner-up Josh Myers by seven markers. Third is Rickie Tharp with Colby Lane and Tyler Marsh completing the top five.

Two consistent finishes have placed Chris Jennings into the top spot in the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Oval points lead. Ron Phipps ranks in second spot, just 10 markers from the first place. Third is Andy Jennings with Joseph Jennings and Trevin Henson completing the top five.

Mike Alley paces the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Figure 8 standings. Opening night winner Donnie Ellis Jr. is second with James Frawley, Kevin Henson and veteran Elliott McKinney rounding out the top five.

On Saturday, April 28, spectator gates open at 4 p.m. with the racing beginning at 7. Admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

The excitement and tradition of the Glen Niebel Classic Sprint Car race returns to Anderson Speedway Sunday April 29, under the Banner of the United States Speed Association. The 100-lap Sprint Car race will be the inaugural event sanctioned by USSA.

USSA’s Mel Kenyon Midget Series will also be on hand with a 30-lap feature to complete a full day of open wheel racing excitement on the high banks of Anderson Speedway.

USSA Sprint Car racing is conducted under the same rules used for Anderson Speedway’s 64th Annual Pay Less Little 500. Fans will be able to enjoy Pay Less Little 500 drivers and sprint car aces like Aaron Pierce, Brian Gerster, Chet Fillip and Jimmy McCune tackling the competition and the high banks for 100-laps. Midget Ace Kyle Hamilton will be bringing his talents to the Glen Niebel Classic as well.

Nick Hamilton, Kyle’s younger brother, will lead the Mel Kenyon Midget Series drivers into Anderson Speedway with the USSA points lead following his win in the season opener. Grant Galloway, second in all time USSA Kenyon Car wins, has also returned to the series for the 2012 racing season.

“I’m looking forward to getting back to Anderson,” Galloway said. “I want to be the all time leader in races won,” he enthused. Keeping the Mel Kenyon Midget Series field honest will be Jessica Bean, the 201l USSA Kenyon Midget Champion.

USSA and Anderson Speedway Officials expect strong competitive fields for both the Glen Niebel Classic and the Mel Kenyon Midget Series. Spectator gates open at 11:30 AM, Sprint Car practice and qualifying starts at 11:30, followed by MKMS practice and qualifying at 1:15 with racing set to go green at 2:00.

Tickets for the Glen Niebel Classic are $15 for adults, $4 for kids six to 12 and kids five and under are free.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit www.andersonspeedway.com or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.

– www.andersonspeedway.com –