Seeman See’s Victory in Inaugural NCRA 305 Sprint Opener!

2011 NCRA National Championship Racing Association logo

By David Smith Jr.

Raymond Seeman of Jetmore, Kansas took advantage of a lap five crash that took out the two leaders to win the inaugural event for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products 305 sprint car feature Saturday night at 81 Speedway in Park City.

By virtue of earning the most finishing and passing points during heat race action, Jason Martin of Liberal, Kansas started on the pole for the twenty lap feature and quickly set sail from the rest of the field.

Third starting Ty Williams settled into the runner up position as Seeman and outside front row starter Tyler Knight gave chase.

Only one lap would be completed when the first caution flag fell for Koby Walters spin in turn two.

When racing action resumed Martin again stayed out front but Williams was just three car lengths back and started to use the high side of the three-eighths mile oval to reel in the leader.

Williams got his chance entering turns three and four on lap four and was credited with the lead coming down the front stretch. However, Martin was determined not to be denied and entering turns one and two, attempted to execute a slide job. However, both drivers made contact sending both into a wild series of flips with Williams landing on top of the concrete wall off the track at the top of turn two.

Both drivers walked away uninjured but were done for the night.

The restart handed the lead to Seeman with Knight, Zach Blurton and Conner Atkinson giving chase. Seeman would open a half stretch lead on lap nine before the caution would was for a second spin by Walters.

On the restart Seeman again set sail and opened a sizeable lead over Knight while behind them, sixth starting Brian Herbert would dispose of Blurton to take the third position.

A couple laps later the final caution of the night would wave when Jordan Randles spun in turns one and two.

The final restart saw Seeman, aboard the #72 Alvarez Upholstery/Phillips Chiropractic/M.A.P.S. Inc. sponsored Coker powered Eagle chassis motor away from the field and would go on to lead the final six laps to take the $1000 victory.

Herbert got around Knight with four laps to go and tried hard to erase Seeman’s full stretch lead but would fall five car lengths short at the finish line.

“I thought I might have something for Martin but Williams was probably too fast for me to catch,” said Seeman in victory lane on whether or not he could have contended for the win if not for the crash. “My crew told me on that red flag to stay put so I just held my line. I could keep hitting turns three and four harder and harder, it was really fast up there.”

Josh Fairbank put on a passing clinic as the Wichita, Kansas driver started tenth and worked his way up to a third place finish. Knight settled for fourth while Blurton came away with a fifth place finish.

Heat races for the fifteen car field were won by Williams and Knight.

The next event for the NCRA 305 sprint car series will take place on Saturday night, June 9, once again at 81 Speedway.

NCRA 305 Sprints

81 Speedway/Park City, Kansas


1st Heat: 1) 1 Ty Williams (Liberal, Ks), 2) 36 Jason Martin (Liberal, Ks), 3) 2j Zach Blurton (Jetmore, Ks), 4) 97 Brian Herbert (Dodge City, Ks), 5) 51 Josh Fairbank (Wichita, Ks), 6) b3 Kasey Beckham (Andover, Ks), 7) 007 Jordan Randles (Sublette, Ks), 8) 54 Mike Spear (Lincoln, Ks)

2nd Heat: 1) 11k Tyler Knight (Wright, Ks), 2) 72 Raymond Seeman (Jetmore, Ks), 3) 33 Kris Miller (Woodward, Ok), 4) 17 Connor Atkinson, 5) 16k Kaden Taylor (Forgan, Ok), 6) 33k Koby Walters (Liberal, Ks), 7) 60 Kip Hughes (Enid, Ok)

A Feature: 1) Raymond Seeman (Jetmore, Ks), 2) Brian Herbert (Dodge City, Ks), 3) Josh Fairbank (Wichita, Ks), 4) Tyler Knight (Wright, Ks), 5) Zach Blurton (Jetmore, Ks), 6) Kris Miller (Woodward, Ok), 7) Connor Atkinson, 8) Kasey Beckham (Andover, Ks), 9) Kaden Taylor (Forgan, Ok), 10) Mike Spear (Lincoln, Ks), 11) Kip Hughes (Enid, Ok), 12) Koby Walters (Liberal, Ks), 13) Jordan Randles (Sublette, Ks), 14) Jason Martin (Liberal, Ks), 15) Ty Williams (Liberal, Ks),