Look Ahead at the USAC AMSOIL Sprint CarsJon S – Eldora

Jon Stanbrough. - Mudclodbob Photo


Jon Stanbrough leads the AMSOIL National Sprint Car Series back into action this weekend with the “Spring Showdown” with the Midwest Sprint Car Series at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Indiana. Stanbrough and his Roberts/Tate Racing – Leer Racing #21x DRC/Speedway hold a nine-point lead going into Saturday, but his closest challenger will not be in attendance.

Bryan Clauson has practice at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway on Saturday in preparation for an attempt at his first Indianapolis 500. The Corey Tucker Racing – BCI – Curb/Agajanian team has tabbed Brady Short to fill the seat of the #7 Maxim/Fisher for the time leading up to Memorial Day. Short has four career National Sprint Car wins, with the last coming in July of 2010.

Last year’s winners at Haubstadt, Damion Gardner and Casey Riggs, will both be in attendance. Both drivers have seen a change in their programs, however, as Gardner now employs Bob East as his crew chief, while Riggs has gone to the Keith Kunz Motorsports stable after his former crew chief, Mike Dutcher, moved to Clauson’s team.

USAC/CRA winner and currently second in CRA points, Nic Faas, is expected to be back in Indiana this weekend to wheel the famous Fox Brothers #53 DRC/Foxco, formerly piloted by Stanbrough to a win at Haubstadt.

Current MSCS point leader Robert Ballou won their series opener at the Terre Haute Action Track before Thomas Meseraull won on Saturday at Lawrenceburg. Ballou is also 13th in USAC National points. Stanbrough sits second in the MSCS standings.