Jennings Wins Sooner Feature at Lawton

2010 ascs American Sprint Car Series

From Cody Morris

Lawton, Oklahoma (5-26-2012) – The American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region rode into Lawton, Oklahoma for the second of four Sooner showings at the historic Lawton Speedway this season.

A Sooner state fan favorite for many years and multi-champ of the ASCS Sooner Region as well as over a half dozen track titles at Oklahoma City’s legendary, but fallen State Fair Speedway; Norman, Oklahoma’s Danny Jennings wired the 25 lap main event for his first ASCS Sooner Region of the season aboard the Wesmar powered Goodyear Racing no. 1J Maxim.

The win was Jennings’ first Sooner score at Lawton since 2002, a rather unbelievable stat for ardent race fans who have watched the veteran rampage Lawton’s ¼ mile red clay paper clip since the inception of the Sooner region in 2001.

Glenpool, Oklahoma’s defending ASCS Lone Star champ and current leader of both the ASCS Sooner and Lone Star Region’s; Matt Covington rebounded from heat race woes earlier in the evening to claim an honorable runner up finish that included the Glenpool racer swapping sensational slide jobs with the leader midway through the 25 lap main event.

A Tulsa native and Sooner Region winner in season opening action at Lawton in April, Sean McClelland jumped in a new ride to claim the show position.

Also of State Fair Speedway’s championship lore, Guthrie, Oklahoma’s Michelle Decker turned in her second consecutive top five performance. Decker’s inspired advance from B Feature action concluded with an impressive run from 16th to fourth, netting her the Bishop’s Racing Components Hard Charger effort.

Iowa Park, Texas native John James completed the top five finishing order with his first career ASCS top five finish.

Joe Wood Jr., Matt Covington, and Shane Sellers each claimed heat race victories over the 26 car American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region field, with Fort Worth’s Patrick Stasa taking the leading transfer spot in the night’s only 10 lap B Feature.

American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region
May 26th, 2012 / Event 4 of 14
Lawton Speedway / Lawton, Oklahoma

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 1J-Danny Jennings[1]; 2. 11c-Matt Covington[8]; 3. 15B-Sean McClelland[2]; 4. 7-Michelle Decker[16]; 5. 4J-John James[5]; 6. 11s-Patrick Stasa[15]; 7. 7s-Shane Sellers[7]; 8. 81au-Gavin Punch[18]; 9. 57-Kyle Chady[20]; 10. 5-Joe Bob Lee[17]; 11. 010-Brian Roberts[14]; 12. 76-John Ricketts[19]; 13. 45-Martin Edwards[9]; 14. 15k-Kerry McAlister[13]; 15. 21-Brandon Jennings[4]; 16. 22-Koby Barksdale[12]; 17. 03-Joe Wood Jr[3]; 18. 65L-Nicholas Lucito[6]; 19. 36-Robert Sellers[11]; 20. 27x-Jesse Frazier[10]
Lap Leaders: Danny Jennings 1-25

B Feature
(10 Laps): 1. 11s-Patrick Stasa[6]; 2. 7-Michelle Decker[1]; 3. 5-Joe Bob Lee[5]; 4. 81au-Gavin Punch[11]; 5. 76-John Ricketts[7]; 6. 57-Kyle Chady[12]; 7. 25-T.J. Herrell[3]; 8. 22K-Kevin Barksdale[4]; 9. 61-Earnest Jennings[9]; 10. 00-Kacee Frazier[10]; 11. 29-Brandon Hahn[2]; 12. 35-Rick Wright Jr[8]
Top six transfer to A Feature

Heat 1
(8 Laps): 1. 03-Joe Wood Jr; 2. 65L-Nicholas Lucito; 3. 36-Robert Sellers; 4. 22-Koby Barksdale; 5. 45-Martin Edwards; 6. 29-Brandon Hahn; 7. 11s-Patrick Stasa; 8. 5-Joe Bob Lee; 9. 81au-Gavin Punch

Heat 2
(8 Laps): 1. 11c-Matt Covington; 2. 4J-John James; 3. 21-Brandon Jennings; 4. 15k-Kerry McAlister; 5. 010-Brian Roberts; 6. 22K-Kevin Barksdale; 7. 76-John Ricketts; 8. 61-Earnest Jennings; 9. 57-Kyle Chady

Heat 3
(8 Laps): 1. 7s-Shane Sellers; 2. 1J-Danny Jennings; 3. 15B-Sean McClelland; 4. 27x-Jesse Frazier; 5. 7-Michelle Decker; 6. 25-T.J. Herrell; 7. 35-Rick Wright Jr; 8. 00-Kacee Frazier

2012 American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Sooner Region point standings (top ten):
1. Matt Covington 527; 2. Shane Sellers 493; 3. Joe Wood Jr. 471; 4. Michelle Decker 457; 5. Sean McClelland 410; 6. Robert Sellers 404; 7. Koby Barksdale 398; 7. Jesse Frazier 398; 9. Joe Bob Lee 396; 10. Danny Jennings 392

2012 Car & Fleet Sooner Region Rookie of the Year:
1. Shane Sellers 493; 2. Jesse Frazier 398; 3. Joe Bob Lee 396; 4. Kyle Chady 374; 5. Brandon Hahn 347; 6. Kacee Frazier 284; 7. John James 255; 7. Nick Lucito 255