ira interstate racing association logo

ira interstate racing associationFrom IRA

Jim Falls, WI – (June 3, 2012) – To say that Bill Balog, the four-time and defending Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint champion was having a bit of bad luck may have been an understatement as the series headed to Eagle Valley Speedway. The stop would wrap up a triple-header weekend. On Friday evening Travis Whitney has scored a victory at Jackson, Minnesota and on Saturday Night Mike Reinke took the win at Cedar Lake Speedway as Balog’s machine expired a motor while leading with two laps to go in the contest.

Heading into Sunday evening’s race at Eagle Valley Speedway Balog had seen three DNF’s in the past four races. Two of which had occurred while he was leading races with only a few laps remaining. Tonight Balog withstood the onslaught of a very competitive field and bested mother nature who would drop occasional sprinkles on the banked 3/8 mile oval to roar to his fourth victory of the season in series competition.

20 of the 22 scheduled starters would answer the call for the start of the Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint A-main. Polesitter Jim Moughan would get the jump on fellow front row starter Russel Borland to set the pace on the opening lap of the contest. Balog who had started in the fifth position wasted little time in moving forward diving to the bottom of turns three and four and surpassing both Tommy Sexton and Scott Uttech to reach the third position by the third orbit around the raceway.

Moments later Sexton would lose power rolling to a stop on the backstretch and forcing the first slowdown of the event on lap four.

Moughan would lead the field back to the green flag with Borland, Balog and Mike Reinke and Uttech holding down the top five positions.

With the field back up to speed Moughan was again showing the way, while Balog made quick work of Borland grabbing second as the green flag flew. Only two more laps were put in the books before Dave Uttech looped his ride in turn two forcing the second yellow flag.

Moughan was back to leading the way as racing resumed with Balog trying to run down the leader. Reinke would drop Borland from the third spot before the next caution on lap eight which appeared when second quick qualifier John Sernett tagged the wall in turn one on lap eight and came to a rest against the wall.

The race would be halted for 15 minutes while track officials worked to resolve a lighting issue on the front stretch.

Once action resumed the rest of the contest would be run without interruption. Moughan brought the field back to the green flag with Balog looking for an opportunity to reach the front of the pack. Reinke, fast qualifier Brooke Tatnell and Travis Whitney would chase the lead pair holding down the top five spots.

On lap eleven Balog worked the low line through turns three and four to sweep ahead of Moughan for the top spot.

Once out front Balog slowly increased his lead on Moughan as the leaders began to work lapped traffic with less than ten laps to go in the contest. Balog would flawlessly work lapped cars leaving no opportunity for Moughan to retake the lead.

Over the final laps Reinke who had won the A-main the night prior at Cedar Lake Speedway, began to pressure Moughan for the runner-up spot.

Without any slowdowns to put the field on his rear nerf bar, Balog was able to grab the victory by eight car lengths over Moughan, who finished in the runner-up spot for the second consecutive night. Heading into the final turns Reinke, who was running third looped his machine giving up the third position to Tatnell. Whitney the winner of the Jackson Speedway event two nights earlier claimed the fourth spot followed by Borland who rounded out the top five.

Scott Neitzel, Phillip Mock and Scott Uttech were scored sixth through eighth respectively. Reinke recovered from his spin to be awarded ninth, the final car on the lead lap. Bill Wirth rounded out the top ten, the first car one lap down. 16 cars were running at the conclusion of the contest.

Earlier in the evening Balog, Moughan and Neitzel captured heat race victories.

Whitney turned in the fastest qualifying effort for the second straight night having also set fast time at Cedar Lake Speedway 24 hours earlier. Whitney’s lap of 12.572 seconds was just two tenths short of a new track record at Eagle Valley. Reinke was second quick with a lap of 12.653 seconds and Tatnell was third quick with a 12.882 second trip around the track.

Next week The Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprint Series makes its third appearance of the 2012 season at Wilmot Raceway for an event on Saturday Night June 9th. Joining the Sprint cars for the show will be Modifieds, Mini-Sprints, Street Stocks and a 4 cylinder feature invitational.

Adult admission tickets are just $20. Adults with a military ID will receive a $5 discount. Students ages 8 through 11 are admitted for just $5 and children 7 and under will be admitted free.

For more information on the IRA Outlaw Sprints check out the tour website at

The IRA Outlaw Sprint Series is proudly supported by Bumper to Bumper Auto Parts & Service Centers, Osborn & Son Trucking, Goodyear, TW Metals, Cummins Onan, DNA Energy Drink& Snacks, MPT Industries, UltraLube, Big Game Treestands, Carriage Auto Body, Otis Gun, Mother’s Polishes and Waxes and Polaris DEFENSE. The office of the IRA Sprints can be reached at 815-759-9269 or by e-mail at


Bumper to Bumper IRA Outlaw Sprints:

A-Main: 1.) Bill Balog; 2.) Jim Moughan; 3.) Brooke Tatnell; 4.) Travis Whitney; 5.) Russel Borland; 6.) Scott Neitzel; 7.) Phillip Mock; 8.) Scott Uttech; 9.) Mike Reinke; 10.) Bill Wirth; 11.) Jeremy Schultz; 12.) Kris Spitz; 13.) Todd King; 14.) Dave Uttech; 15.) Dennis Spitz; 16.) Tony Kaus; 17.) Chad Tessman; 18.) John Sernett; 19.) Tommy Sexton; 20.) Brandon Thone; 21.) Robbie Pribnow; 22.) Scott Broty

Heat 1: 1.) Balog; 2.) Schultz; 3.) Wirth; 4.) Whitney
Heat 2: 1.) Moughan; 2.) K. Spitz; 3.) Sexton; 4.) Reinke
Heat 3: 1.) Neitzel; 2.) Tatnell; 3.) D. Uttech; 4.) S. Uttech

Qualifying Top 10: 1.) Whitney, 12.572 Seconds; 2.) Reinke, 12.753 secs; 3.) Tatnell, 12.822 secs; 4.) Setnett, 12.929; 5.) Mock, 12.994; 6.) Neitzel, 13.039; 7.) Balog, 13.103; 8.) Sexton, 13.196; 9.) S. Uttech, 12.289; Borland, 13.296.