Anderson Speedway

from anderson

ANDERSON, Ind. (June 14, 2012) – Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway on Saturday, June 16 with the second appearance from the USSA Sprint Cars. Other divisions in action include McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Oval and Thunder Roadsters.

In the inaugural USSA Sprint Car Race on a cold Sunday afternoon in April, Aaron Pierce led Jimmy McCune, Brian Gringas and Jason Cox across the finish line in the 100-lap Glen Niebel Classic. The USSA Sprinters will take the green for a 50-lap feature on June 16th.

USSA and Anderson Speedway Officials will be assessing both the field of cars and fan response to the race. “We are looking at how both the competitors and fans respond to the race at Anderson on the 16th,” said Eric Bunn, USSA VP and Competition Director. “If it seems like the enthusiasm necessary to make it work is there, we will be taking a hard look at adding an Indiana centered series for non-winged pavement sprint cars based on the Pay Less Little 500 car rules in the 2013 racing season,” Bunn explained. The United States Speed Association also sanctions the Mel Kenyon Midget Series.

“For non-winged pavement racing to prosper, we will need a solid base of competitors along with the fans coming out to the race tracks in order to build a financial case for the promoters to schedule an event, and that’s what we hope to begin to find out this Saturday at Anderson,” commented Don Kenyon, President of USSA. Kenyon continued, “We want to thank Anderson Speedway for investing in the race on April 29th and the one this Saturday night so we can all see how to make non-winged pavement sprint car racing work.”

In the McGunegill Engine Performance Late Models, Josh Poore has moved into first position in the standings with a 15 point lead over Ronnie Rose. Third in the standings is Brandon Phillips with Fred Hopkins and Josh Cave rounding out the top five.

Ron Phipps continues to pace the G.W. Pierce Front Wheel Drive Oval standings with a 138 point cushion over Marshall Clark Jr. Four-time feature winner Jerry Dane ranks third with Paul Phipps and Trevin Henson completing the top five performers.

The Thunder Roadsters will make their third stop at Anderson Speedway this season. Chris Weddle has visited the winner’s circle in the previous two events. On Saturday night, the Thunder Roadsters will be showcased in a 25-lap feature event.

On Saturday, June 16, spectator gates open at 5 p.m. with the racing beginning at 8. Admission is $15 for adults and $4 for kids ages 6-12. Children five and under get in free.

The Lions Family Festival will also be showcased at Anderson Speedway from June 13-16.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.