Stinson Wins at Skyline

From Scott Wolfe

Stewart, OH — (October 13, 2012) — It wasn’t quite Halloween, but it was a festive night with nearly 30 kids in costume for the annual Jack-o-Lantern 30’s at Billy Jarrell’s Skyline Speedway. In the 410 sprint division for Ohio Valley Sprint Car Association drivers, Jimmy Stinson, Vandalia, Ohio lapped all but two cars en route to the $2,000 win in the thirty lap affair.

The first feature event of the night was the Jack-O-Lantern 30 for sprint cars. Aaron Higgins in the John Shewbrooks A79 won the dash and sat on the pole of the A-main. Higgins stormed into an early lead, but Stinson quickly dived into the chase, staging a seven-lap side-by-side battle with Higgins.
Stinson twice tried a slide job in turn two, but Higgins’ momentum carried him back to the point. Stinson finally blitzed under Higgins in turn three, then mastered one of the most dominant on-track performances the Ohio Valley has seen over the last several seasons.

Going into the frey Dave Dickson, Marietta, OH had both the OVSCA and Skyline points’ leads, but held the Skyline lead by just four points. Dickson had a great run going early, anchoring third place much of the first half of the event before Kory Crabtree, Josh Davis, and Greg Mitchell leapfrogged ahead in two-lap passing intervals.

With two laps to go, Crabtree jumped the cushion and stormed through the pit exit unscathed, but out of the race. Meanwhile, Stinson in a brand new B & J Welding mount pulled away from the field and had nearly lapped the third place car of Davis when the checkered flag waved.

The win earned crew chief Gary Hall, owner Billy Jarrell and Stinson their third straight Skyline Speedway championship. Unofficially, Dickson claimed the OVSCA championship as both drivers earned congratulatory praises.
Rounding out the top ten were Jimmy Stinson, Aaron Higgins, Josh Davis, Greg Mitchell, Dave Dickson, Greg Lay, Kory Crabtree, Bob Tucker, Lance Webb, and Brian Benson. Mitchell was hard-charger in a 7th to 4th place run.