Rahmer Wins at Susquehanna

ssp susquehanna Speedway Park
ssp susquehanna Speedway Park

Susquehanna, PA — (April 14, 2013) — Salfordsville’e Fred Rahmer took the victory in the 4th Annual Sprint Car Spring Classic at the Susquehanna Speedway Park on Sunday night. Ryan Wilson of Maytown collected the 358 Sprint Car 20 lapper.

By virtue of an inversion of six from their heat race finishes, Fred Rahmer and Lance Dewease started on the front row and brought the 25-car field to the green. However it was Mark Smith diving to the bottom on the green to lead the first lap. A caution on lap four for a spinning car bunched the field back up behind Smith who opened up a decent lead in the first four laps. On the restart, Smith continued to lead with Rahmer and Brent Marks chasing down the leader through lapped traffic. Smith skillfully retained his lead as lapped cars became more prevalent as the laps wound down. A caution on lap 19 regrouped the field once again behind Smith. By this time Donnie Kreitz had moved from an 11th place starting spot to the fourth spot for the restart.

Smith led on the restart but Rahmer scooted by on lap 20 as Kreitz moved into third spot as well. On the next lap Kreitz moved into the runner-up spot and set sail for Rahmer. On the final lap, Kreitz closed up the gap, but ran out of laps as Rahmer collected his 31st career SSP victory. Kreitz settled for second with Brent Marks running a strong third place finish. Logan Schuchart and Mark Smith rounded out the top five. Ryan Smith, Krietz’s teamamte ran sixth as Alan Krimes crossed the line in seventh. Lance Dewease, Blaine Heimbach and Tony Stewart rounded out the top ten. Heat race wins went to Schuchart, Marks and Ryan Smith.

In the 358 Sprint Car night cap, Ryan Wilson took the lead from the pole position. Kevin Nouse immediately began to challenge from the runner-up spot after starting fifth. A few early cautions bunched the field, but once racing settled in, Wilson took a commanding 10 car length lead through the middle stages of the race. Wilson never faltered or looked back as he went on to take the checkers at the finish. Nouse came across in second as Cris Eash finished in third. Rodney Westhafer and Tyler Ross rounded out the top five. Ross came from a 14th place starting position. Wilson, Eash and Austin Hogue were the heat race winners.

Racing action returns to the Big Track at SSP on Saturday night, April 20, when Figure 8 Racing returns to SSP along with the Late Models, Street Stocks, Xtreme Stocks, Road Warriors/Mini Vans and the PENNMAR Vintage Cars.

The Super 410 Sprint Cars will return to SSP on Mother’s Day, Sunday, May 12 along with the Late Models. The start time has been changed from 6:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. for the event. The Sunday June 16, Sprint Car Summer Classic will also be changed to a 7:00 p.m. start time as well.

The Susquehanna Speedway Park is located off I-83 to exit 32, then 1.4 miles NW on SR382 to York Road, then 1.3 miles south. For more information, contact the speedway offices at (717) 292-1696 or visit online at sspracing.net. On raceday, use the track phone at (717) 938-9170 for up-to-date information at the “Big Track” and the “Outback Track.”

Previous Winners of SSP Sprint Car Spring Classic:

2010: Don Kreitz Jr.(Super Sprint Cars); Billy Pauch Jr. (ARDC Midgets).

2011: Aaron Ott (Super Sprint Cars); Steve Buckwalter (ARDC Midgets).

2012: Greg Hodnett (Super Sprint Cars); Mark Smith (358 Sprint Cars).

2013: Fred Rahmer (Super Sprint Cars); Ryan Wilson (358 Sprint Cars).

Susquehanna Speedway Park Race Results from Saturday, April 14, 2013

Super 410 Sprint Cars Feature (25 laps): 1. Fred Rahmer; 2. Donnie Kreitz; 3. Brent Marks; 4. Logan Schuchart; 5. Mark Smith; 6. Ryan Smith; 7. Alan Krimes; 8. Lance Dewease; 9. Blaine Heimbach; 10. Tony Stewart; 11. Danny Dietrich; 12. Ryan Wilson; 13. Adam Wilt; 14. Mike Bittinger; 15. Billy Dietrich; 16. Gerald McIntyre; 17. Cole Duncan; 18. Glendon Forsythe; 19. Hunter Mackison; 20. Matt Boland; 21. Billy Pauch Jr.; 22. Jim Shuster; 23. Will Rose; 24. Jordan Mackison; 25. Todd Allen.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: M. Smith (1-19); Rahmer (20-25).

HEAT RACE WINNERS: Schuchart; R. Smith and Marks.

358 Sprint Cars Feature (20 laps): 1. Ryan Wilson; 2. Kevin Nouse; 3. Cris Eash; 4. Rodney Westhafer; 5. Tyler Ross; 6. Eric Tomacek; 7. Teddy Thomas; 8. Niki Young; 9. Dale Hammaker; 10. J.B. Cunningham; 11. Brian Alleman; 12. Chandler Leiby; 13. Jacob Allen; 14. Ryan Greth; 15. Cody Fletcher; 16, Jordan Givler; 17. Michael Hamer; 18. Austin Hogue; 19. Ryan Kissinger; 20. Nyle Berks; 21. Leah Starner; 22. Jay Galloway.


HEAT RACE WINNERS: Wilson; Eash and Hogue.