ESS Spends Memorial Day Weekend at Fonda and Utica-Rome

Empire Super Sprints ESS Logo

Empire Super Sprints ESS LogoFrom Dean Reynolds


Syracuse, NY — (May 24, 2013) —  The first two race stint of the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints (ESS) 30th Anniversary Tour will be the traditional stops at the Fonda and Utica-Rome Speedways to celebrate Memorial Day Weekend. All the stars and cars from the Lucas Oil backed tour will be out in force at two of ESS’ faithful speedways.


On Saturday it will be the annual Earl Halaquist Memorial which will pay the winner $2,000. The Sprint Car Hall of Fame inductee was from nearby Sydney, NY and Fonda is perfect place to carry on the legacy.

The next night it’s the first of four stops to Gene Cole’s half-mile in Vernon. Once again the winged machines will occupy all three of the holiday weekends. But, what is new this year, a mere one week after our Labor Day visit will be the $7,000 to win first annual Cole Cup.


Steve Poirier is leading Justin Barger, Kevin Ward Jr., Dylan Swiernik and Jeff Cook in the season long point battle after the first to events at Can-Am and Selinsgrove.  It’s still very early and it will be a stout list of competitors that will be in the pits this weekend looking to move up the standings.


Michael Parent, Lance Yonge, Chuck Hebing, Paul Kinney, Jason Barney, Shawn Donath, Cory Sparks, Joe Trenca, Patrick Vigneault, Bryan Howland, Etienne Girard, Mike Stelter, Matt Tanner, James Hanson, Kyle Dutcher, Doug Emery, Paul Habeck, Zach Weigand and Tyler Rice will have the goal of adding valuable points towards the overall championship.


With the first two-race weekend, several teams will be joining the ESS gang to have some fun. After their strong runs at Selinsgrove, Dave Ely and Robbie Stillwaggon will be heading north. Danny Varin will be bolting in a 360, Kory Gurney, Jami Russell, Warren Alexson, Josh Pieniazek always enjoy the two tracks. Billy Jaycox Jr. is looking to join us this weekend with Charlie Donk, Vinnie Vitale and Jordan Thomas coming on Sunday.


Car Mate Custom Built Trailers will bring you the heats, Lacaillade Masonry (Fonda) and Kountry Kafe (Utica-Rome) is sponsoring the Cobra Coaches Dashes and the Lacaillade Masonry will bring you the B-Main all leading up to the Lucas Oil A-Mains.


The $2,000 to win Earl Halaquist Memorial at Fonda, the first of four big events at Utica-Rome, paying our respects to those that have given so much on this Memorial Weekend and fireworks by the Lucas Oil ESS winged warriors…It will be excitement guaranteed!!

For more information:





For more information on the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints:
Twitter: @ESSprints
Android App: Empire Super Sprints

Past Empire Super Sprint Winners at Fonda Speedway

July 18, 1987 John Brutcher  
Sept. 14, 1991 Bobby Parrow  
Aug. 2, 1992 Tom Taber  
Oct. 15, 1994 Craig Lane  
July 21, 2007 Justin Barger  
Aug. 5, 2008 Justin Barger  
May 24, 2009 Doug Emery  
Sept. 26. 2009 Lance Yonge  
May 29, 2010 Justin Barger  
Sept. 25, 2010 Justin Barger  
May 28, 2011 Justin Barger  
Sept. 24. 2011 Steve Poirier  
May, 26, 2012 Jessica Zemken  
Sept. 23, 2012 Lance Yonge  

Past Empire Super Sprint Winners at Utica Rome Speedway

May26, 1986 Dave Kelly
July 27, 1986 Bill Peri
May 25, 1987 Gordy Button
Oct. 3, 1987 Mike VanDusen
June 11, 1989 George Sifo
July 9, 1989 Rob Hart
Aug. 20, 1989 Mal Lane
July 8, 1990 Bob Podolak
Aug. 11, 1990 Jeff Thomas
Aug. 9, 1992 Lance Yonge
May 29, 1994 Bobby Parrow
May 26, 1996 Mike Woodring
Sept. 1, 1996 Mike Woodring
Sept. 2, 2001 Steve Dow
Sept. 1, 2002 Dan Kaszubinski
Oct. 9, 2002 Doug Emery
May 25, 2003 Mike Lutz
July 6, 2003 Justin Barger
Aug. 31, 2003 Justin Barger
May 30, 2004 Jeff VanDusen
July 4, 2004 Dan Kaszubinski
Sept. 5, 2004 Lance Yonge
May 29, 2005 Dan Kaszubinski
July 3, 2005 Mike Stelter
Sept. 4, 2005 Lance Yonge
May 28, 2006 Steve Poirier
July 23, 2006 Chuck Hebing
Sept. 3, 2006 Jeff VanDusen
May 27, 2007 Justin Barger
July 1, 2007 Chuck Hebing
Sept. 2, 2007 Steve Poirier
May 25, 2008 Jason Barney
July 6, 2008 Jason Barney
Aug. 31, 2008 Steve Poirier
May 24, 2009 Jessica Zemken
July 6, 2009 Dan Kaszubinski
Sept. 6, 2009 Jason Barney
May 30, 2010 Jessica Zemken
July 4, 2010 Jessica Zemken
Sept. 4, 2010 Chuck Hebing
May 29, 2011 Steve Poirier
July 3. 2011 Chuck Hebing
Aug. 17, 2011 Chuck Hebing
Sept. 4, 2011 Shawn Donath
May 27, 2012 Shawn Donath
July 1, 2012 Justin Barger
July 25, 2012 Chuck Hebing
Sept. 2, 2012 Shawn Donath