Noll, Shelton & More Shine on Armed Forces Night at CSP!

canyon speedway park logo

From Lonnie Wheatley


Peoria, AZ — (July 13, 2013) —  Jason Noll and Johnny Shelton, Jr., were among the headliners during Saturday’s American Armed Forces Appreciation Night atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval.


While Noll nabbed another IMCA Modified score and Shelton, Jr., picked off his first LoanMart Challenge Cup Non-Wing Sprint Car victory, other winners over the course of the night included Joe Scheopner in Micro Sprints, Anthony Madrid in Viper Smart Start Pure Stock action, John Romero in Renegade competition and Mike Strobel in Dwarf Cars.


Jason Noll moved closer to the top spot in track IMCA Modified points with his third triumph in the last four outings by racing from the fourth row outside to take the checkered flag ahead of Guy Norton with George Fronsman, Anthony Madrid and James Webster in the top five.


Johnny Shelton, Jr., raced from the eighth starting position as well to snare his first LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car win of the year in front of 10th-starter Michael Colegrove, Matt Lundy, Josh Shipley and Tanner Grau.


Joe Scheopner raced from the pole position to snare his second Micro Sprint win of the season ahead of fellow front row starter Dave Van Ess, with Colton Hardy, Aaron Miller and Tyler Dean in the top five.


Just like Noll and Shelton, Jr., Madrid came from the eighth starting position to win his third Viper Smart Start Pure Stock feature win in a row ahead of fellow fourth-row starter Matt Martinez with 13th-starter Chris McCurdy, Jr., Ryan Eaden and Steve Bitting in the top five.


A ninth row starting position didn’t prevent John Romero from remaining undefeated in Renegade action as he raced from 18th to make it four-for-four by crossing the stripe ahead of ninth-starter Jason Crowe, Paul O’Connor, Trenton Setelin and Brandy McCurdy.


In Dwarf Car action, Mike Strobel advanced from sixth to claim his first CSP win of the year ahead of Eddie O’Neil, Daniel Lamm, Steve Kapaun and Jeff Ekery.


Next up at Canyon Speedway Park is the Summer Slam on Saturday night, July 27, featuring the USAC Southwest Sprint Cars along with the LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars, Micro Sprints, Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks and AMA Mod Lites.


Canyon Speedway Park

American Armed Forces Appreciation Night:


IMCA Modifieds:


Heat Race One: 1. 99-Zach Washburn, 2. 82-J.C. Parmeley, 3. 41-George Fronsman, 4. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 5. 12-Guy Norton, 6. 19-Jay Foster, 7. 8-Nate Warren, 8. 48jc-Josh Center.


Heat Race Two: 1. 59-Mark Stewart, 2. 19sb-Lance Mari, 3. 5az-James Webster, 4. 44-Jason Noll, 5. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 6. 87-Clifton Maggard, 7. 447-Denny Areas, 8. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr.


“A” Feature: 1. 44-Jason Noll, 2. 12-Guy Norton, 3. 41-George Fronsman, 4. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 5. 5az-James Webster, 6. 20rt-Ricky Thornton, Jr., 7. 99-Zach Washburn, 8. 19-Jay Foster, 9. 8-Nate Warren, 10. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 11. 82-J.C. Parmeley, 12. 19sb-Lance Mari, 13. 59-Mark Stewart, 14. 87-Clifton Maggard, 15. 447-Danny Areas, 16. 48jc-Josh Center.



LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars:


First Heat: 1. 5-Ty Mihocko, 2. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 3. 0-Tanner Grau, 4. 11az-Jesse Turner, 5. 27-Scott Mortenson.


Second Heat: 1. 98-Matt Lundy, 2. 2-Josh Shipley, 3. 11t-Michael Colegrove, 4. 5x-Dean Colquette, 5. 35-Steve Wagner.


“A” Feature: 1. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 2. 11t-Michael Colegrove, 3. 98-Matt Lundy, 4. 2-Josh Shipley, 5. 0-Tanner Grau, 6. 11az-Jesse Turner, 7. 5x-Dean Colquette, 8. 35-Steve Wagner, 9. 5-Ty Mihocko, 10. 27-Scott Mortenson.



Micro Sprints:


First Heat: 1. 17-Joe Scheopner, 2. 6-Dave Van Ess, 3. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 4. 37j-Dave Ferneau, 5. 101-Jim Branum, 6. 57-Kyle Huttinghow, 7. 71-Cody Batten, 8. 7-Kevin Keefer.


Second Heat: 1. 41-Colton Hardy, 2. 42-Kenny Hill, 3. 77-Aaron Miller, 4. 4-Ryan Walter, 5. 32-Tyler Dean, 6. 55-Greg Pritts, 6. 21r-Johnathon Patrick.


“A” Feature: 1. 17-Joe Scheopner, 2. 6-Dave Van Ess, 3. 41-Colton Hardy, 4. 77-Aaron Miller, 5. 32-Tyler Dean, 6. 4-Ryan Walter, 7. 37j-Dave Ferneau, 8. 42-Kenny Hill, 9. 57-Kyle Huttinghow, 10. 101-Jim Branum, 11. 55-Greg Pritts, 12. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 13. 71-Cody Batten, 14. 21r-Johnathon Patrick, 15. 7-Kevin Keefer.


Viper Smart Start Pure Stocks:


First Heat: 1. 18-Danny Price, 2. 21m-Matt Martinez, 3. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 4. 7-Steve Bitting, 5. 97-Stephen Lumpkin, 6. 28-Mike Herrera, 7. 07-Terry Hill, 8. 04b-Justin Bishop.


Second Heat: 1. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 2. 21r-Ryan Eaden, 3. 17L-Nick Langer, 4. 28x-Donnie Yates, 5. 92p-John Parmeley, 6. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 7. 70x-Ron Reynolds, 8. 9-Jeff Carter.


Third Heat: 1. Z28-Ty Weidner, 2. 84-Mike Goodwin, 3. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 4. 29p-Jonathan Parker, 5. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 6. 13m-Johnny Madrid, 7. 2jt-Mike Newton, 8. 90-Lee Morrell.


“B” Feature: 1. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 2. 06-Malowe Wrightsman, 3. 13m-Johnny Madrid, 4. 04b-Justin Bishop, 5. 97-Stephen Lumpkin, 6. 2jt-Mike Newton, 7. 90-Lee Morrell, 8. 07-Terry Hill, 9. 28-Mike Herrera, 10. 92p-John Parmeley, 11. 9-Jeff Carter, 12. 70x-Ron Reynolds.


“A” Feature: 1. 5m-Anthony Madrid, 2. 21m-Matt Martinez, 3. 23jr-Chris McCurdy, Jr., 4. 21r-Ryan Eaden, 5. 7-Steve Bitting, 6. 68v-Joe Vlasity, 7. 18-Danny Price, 8. 90-Lee Morrell, 9. 84-Mike Goodwin, 10. 06-Marlowe Wrightsman, 11. 17L-Nick Langer, 12. 97-Stephen Lumpkin, 13. 2jt-Mike Newton, 14. 13m-Johnny Madrid, 15. 6-Michael Wrightsman, 16. Z28-Ty Weidner, 17. 07-Terry Hill, 18. 04b-Justin Bishop, 19. 29p-Jonathan Parker, 20. 28x-Donnie Yates.





First Heat: 1. 88-Glen Matkovich, 2. 64s-Jonathan Stahlhut, 3. 13m-Speedy Madrid, 4. 23jr-Brandy McCurdy, 5. 9-Paul O’Connor, 6. 16b-Richard Bennett, 7. 75-David Irwin, 8. 117-Shawn Davs, 9. 11-Jason Bateman, 10. 15-Kyle Williams.


Second Heat: 1. 85-Joe Peterson, 2. 99-Trenton Setelin, 3. 64-Daniel Romero, 4. 72-John Wilt, 5. 13-Jason Crowe, 6. 57a-Tate Allen, 7. 68-Joe Setelin, 8. 08-Michelle Halfhill, 9. 65-John Romero.


“A” Feature: 1. 65-John Romero, 2. 13-Jason Crowe, 3. 9-Paul O’Connor, 4. 99-Trenton Setelin, 5. 23jr-Brandy McCurdy, 6. 16b-Richard Bennett, 7. 57a-Tate Allen, 8. 72-John Wilt, 9. 75-David Irwin, 10. 11-Jason Bateman, 12. 08-Michelle Halfhill, 13. 117-Shawn Davs, 14. 64-Daniel Romero, 15. 66-Joe Setelin, 16. 64s-Jonathan Stalhut, 17. 55-Unknown, 18. 88-Glen Matkovich, 19. 13m-Speedy Madrid, 20. 15-Kyle Williams.



Dwarf Cars:


First Heat: 1. 14-Ryan Hennessey, 2. 69-Eddie O’Neil, 3. 4-Ryan Irish, 4. 32-Rick Godsey, 5. 18-Chris Cramer, 6. 72-Justin Murphy, 7. 16-Jim Hock, 8. 24-Richard Kemp, 9. 17-Brian Stehr.


Second Heat: 1. 31-Greg Loper, 2. 27-Steve Kapaun, 3. 22-Daniel Lamm, 4. 81-Jeff Ekery, 5. 21-Alli Zepplen, 6. 37-Mike Strobel, 7. 86-Kyle Klein, 8. 30-Derek Hudson.


“A” Feature: 1. 37-Mike Strobel, 2. 69-Eddie O’Neil, 3. 22-Daniel Lamm, 4. 47-Steve Kapaun, 5. 81-Jeff Ekery, 6.  21-Alli Zepplen, 7. 14-Ryan Hennessey, 8. 72-Justin Murphy, 9. 16-Jim Hock, 10. 32-Rick Godsey, 11. 18-Chris Cramer, 12. 24-Richard Kemp, 13. 86-Kyle Klein, 14. 31-Greg Loper, 15. 4-Ryan Irish, 16. 17-Brian Stehr.