Dellinger Wins Sportsman Feature at Susquehanna

ssp susquehanna Speedway Park
ssp susquehanna Speedway Park

From Todd Fisher


Susquehanna, PA — (July 20, 2013) — Scott Dellinger of Lewisberry drove his way to victory in the 25-lap Super Sportsman Tour feature event Saturday at Susquehanna Speedway Park.


The 25-lap Super Sportsman Tour feature started off slow with three cautions for accidents on the initial starts.  Fearing a fuel stop before getting one complete lap, official’s concerns were negated as the next 17 laps went non-stop with Rick Barr taking the lead over Scott Dellinger and Paul Miller.  Dellinger stayed close.  On the restart, the positions remained the same.  Another caution on lap 22 gave Dellinger another shot at the lead.  Coming off turn four after the restart, Dellinger made contact with the low liner Barr, moving him out of the way and took the lead.  Dellinger went on to record the victory over Barr at the end.  Frank Herr finished third, followed by Russ Mitten who started 21st and finished strong in fourth.  Gregg Foster rounded out the top five.  Steve and Jay Fannasy as well as Chris Meleason were heat race winners.  Rich Eichelberger was the consolation winner.

Super Sportsman Tour Feature (25 laps):  1. Scott Dellinger; 2. Rick Barr; 3. Frankie Herr; 4. Russ Mitten; 5. Gregg Foster; 6. Mike Enders; 7. Paul Miller; 8. Leroy Martin; 9. Scott Geesey; 10. Carmen Perigo; 11. Eric Walker; 12. Chris Meleason; 13. Duane Smith; 14. Dave Berkheimer; 15. Chad Criswell; 16. Steve Wilbur; 17. Bobby Hockenberry; 18. Doug Dodson; 19. Jay Fannasy; 20. Scott Grace; 21. Rich Eichelberger; 22. Dave Socks; 23. Mallie Shuster; 24. Steve Fannasy; DNQ – Kenny Edkin; Tom Wyckoff; Brent Rumberger; Lanny Hake; Brian Gontz; Stan Wanner.

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Barr (1-22); Dellinger (23-25).

HEAT RACE WINNERS: S. Fannasy; J. Fannasy and Meleason.