Hannagan Hauls Away SOD/NRA Loot at Crystal

By Bob Buffenbarger

Crystal, Mi. – (July 20, 2013) Rain fell and clouds swirled near Crystal Motor Speedway Saturday afternoon prior to racing. It was a hurricane, Randy “The Hurricane” Hannagan, as he drove off with the 34 lap Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP feature Saturday night. The event was co-sanctioned with the Ohio based NRA series.

Skies looked ominous early but they cleared, cooler temperatures prevailed and another packed house saw Hannagan start on the pole with Gregg Dalman along side. Hannagan took command when the green flew and controlled the 34 lapper, which signified 34 years Sprints on Dirt had competed at Crystal.Randy Hannagan

Shawn Dancer applied pressure in the early going with Brett Mann, Butch Schroeder, and Dustin Daggett on the move from 9th, all keeping Hannagan in their sights. Hannagan maintained the lead on the tricky slick track and was building on his lead until lap 23 when the only caution of the feature appeared for Gavin Hunyady sliding off turn two.

Dancer was still in second when the green came out but Brett Mann was able to move under Dancer to take 2nd two laps later. With 30 laps in the books, Mann was closing on Hannagan and now Daggett was up to 3rd with Dancer 4th and Butch Schroeder 5th.  Hannagan did not want any part of this action and charged to the checkers.

Heats for the 29 cars were won by Jared Horstman, Dancer, Mann and Hannagan. The B main went to Brett Lane and Dustin Daggett took the Dash.


Engine Pro Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP
Crystal Motor Speedway – Crystal, Mi
Saturday July 20 2013

Hoosier Racing Tire Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. 17 Jared Horstman, 2. 2m Dustin Daggett, 3. 49t Gregg Dalman, 4. 27 Beau Stewart, 5. 21x Kirk Cheney, 6. 10J Chris Jones, 7. 23g Joe Geibe, 8. 2t Ralph Brakenberry

All Star Performance / Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 49 Shawn Dancer, 2. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 3. 31 Andy Teunessen, 4. 89 Chris Pobanz, 5. 187 Gavin Hunyady, 6. 22t Tank Brakenberry, 7. 22d Dennis Yoakam

Speed Pro Heat Race #3 (8 Laps): 1. 19 Brett Mann, 2. 7 Darren Long, 3. 6s J.R. Stewart, 4. 07x Dain Naida, 5. 88 Mike Daggett, 6. Jay Steinebach, 7. 4 Eric Smith

ARP Fastners Heat Race #4 (8 Laps): 1. 22h Randy Hannagan, 2. B20 Butch Schroeder, 3. 46 Robert Huisken, 4. 47 Brett Lane, 5. Ryan Grubagh, 6. 8 Tim Champlin, 7. 81 John Gall

(Top 16 in passing points from the heat races transferred to the A-Main)

Engine Pro B-Main (10 Laps): (First four finishers in the B-Main transfers to the A-Main) 1. 47 Brett Lane, 2. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 3. 6 Jay Steinebach, 4. 8 Tim Champlin, 5. 10j Chris Jones, 6. 88 Mike Daggett, 7.  21x Kirk Cheney, 8. 81 John Gall, 9. 23G Joe Geibe, 10. 2t Ralph Brakenberry, 11. 22t Tank Brakenberry, 12. 22d Dennis Yoakam

Nitro Black Dash (4 Laps): (Determined starting positions 9-12 in the A-Main) 1. 2m Dustin Daggett, 2. 27 Beau Stewart, 3. 7 Darren Long, 4. 6s J.R. Stewart

Engine Pro / ARP A-Main (25 Laps): 1. 22H Randy Hannagan, 2. 19 Brett Mann, 3. 2m Dustin Daggett, 4. 49 Shawn Dancer, 5. B20 Butch Schroeder, 6. 16 Ryan Ruhl, 7. 17 Jared Horstman, 8. 49t Gregg Dalman, 9. 07x Dain Naida, 10. 6s J.R. Stewart, 11. 7 Darren Long, 12. 27 Beau Stewart, 13. 31 Andy Teunessen, 14. 00 Ryan Grubaugh, 15. 46 Robert Huisken, 16. 8 Tim Champlin DNF Gavin Hunyady, Brett Lane, Jay Steinebach, Chris Pobanz

lap Leaders: Hannagan 1-25