Jeff Swindell Wins Loren Woodke Memorial

By Bryan Hulbert

– JACKSON, Minn. (August 30, 2013) The 35th annual Jackson Nationals kicked off with Jeff Swindell earning his fifth Protect the Harvest A-Feature win of 2013, leading the distance in the night’s 25 lap feature event.

The whole night was perfect,” said Jeff Swindell of his victory. “We were fast in Hot Laps, we made the fastest lap in our Heat Race, but getting around Brian [Brown] on the start was the key to this. Just getting the lead, and getting out of that dirty air. Just getting into that lapped traffic, it got real hairy and made me move around the racetrack a lot but the yellows just fell perfect. I was just our night”

Jumping to the point on the start, Swindell kept pace ahead of Gregg Bakker who jumped into second. Slowing on Lap 4 for a caution involving the stalled No. 13 of Mark Dobmeier, racing resumed until Lap 6 when Matt Juhl came to a stop in turn four.

Opening his advantage, the tail of the field was in sight as the caution again flew on Lap 12 for Seth Bergman who shredded a Left Rear tire; sending the No. 23 spinning wildly off the top of turn one, stopped only by the guardrail that separates the facility from the corn that lines the property roughly 200 feet from the racing surface. Seth was okay.

The restart saw Brian Brown work past Gregg Bakker for the runner up spot, only to see the caution wave for Brooke Tatnell before a lap could be completed.

Sending Brown back to third, the podium remained unchanged to the end with Bakker snagging his first podium finish against the Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real.

“We had a good spot there, but we almost gave it away on that last restart,” commented Bakker. “Brown is awesome on restarts. I’ve watched him many times at Knoxville pass a lot of cars. He didn’t think it was a clean move I made, but we didn’t touch and we’ll just go on into tomorrow and see what happens.”

Brian Brown completed the podium, locking into Saturday’s feature event. “As a driver, it’s my job to win the starts, and I didn’t do a good job tonight. I kind of let Jeff dictate the starts, and that was the end of that but anytime you run third against the quality of cars we had, there’s nothing to hang your head about.”

Jason Johnson came up to fourth from seventh to gain the final lock in spot for Saturday’s feature event with Tony Bruce, Jr. fighting back to fifth after falling back to tenth in the early running. Jack Dover charged from seventeenth to sixth with Tyler Drueke seventh. Brad Loyet crossed eighth with Danny Lasoski clawing from twenty-first to ninth. Derrik Lusk completed the top ten.

Heat Races numbered five with Tony Bruce, Jr., Tyler Drueke, Brooke Tatnell, Gregg Bakker, and Jeff Swindell earning wins. B-Feature wins went to Jack Dover and Seth Bergman.

The night also featured the Woodke Cup Challenge to honor the Woodke family who helped the Jackson Nationals become a reality. Drivers from Lucas Oil ASCS National, ASCS Midwest, Jackson Speedway, and Knoxville lined up based on a revenge draw with Brandon Halverson grabbing his first Sprint Car win.

The 35th annual Jackson Nationals concludes Saturday, August 31 with Hot Laps getting underway at 6:45 P.M. For more information, log onto

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real
Speedway Motors Midwest Region – Jackson Sprint Touring Series
Jackson Speedway – Jackson, Minn. – 35th annual Jackson Nationals
Friday, August 30, 2013

Car Count: 39

ASCS Sprints | ASCS Midwest Region with ASCS National

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 94-Jeff Swindell[2]; 2. 11X-Gregg Bakker[3]; 3. 21-Brian Brown[1]; 4. 41-Jason Johnson[7]; 5. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[5]; 6. 53-Jack Dover[17]; 7. 12-Tyler Drueke[6]; 8. 05-Brad Loyet[8]; 9. 1M-Danny Lasoski[21]; 10. 93L-Derrik Lusk[13]; 11. 2L-Logan Forler[24]; 12. 45X-Johnny Herrera[23]; 13. 35-Skyler Prochaska[11]; 14. 21V-Justin Henderson[19]; 15. 5H-Justyn Cox[14]; 16. 7K-Dustin Selvage[15]; 17. 7-Kaley Gharst[22]; 18. 17W-Cole Wood[9]; DNF 25-Brooke Tatnell[4]; DNF 6-Terry McCarl[10]; DNF 82-Scott Winters[20]; DNF 23-Seth Bergman[18]; DNF 09-Matt Juhl[16]; DNF 13-Mark Dobmeier[12]

B Feature 1 (10 Laps): 1. 53-Jack Dover[3]; 2. 21V-Justin Henderson[1]; 3. 1M-Danny Lasoski[2]; 4. 75-Tommy Barber[4]; 5. 93-Dustin Morgan[5]; 6. 1B-Robby Wolfgang[6]; 7. 45X-Johnny Herrera[7]; 8. 2L-Logan Forler[8]; 9. 05B-Bill Boles[10]; 10. 64-Bruce Anderson[9]; 11. 612-Isaac Schreurs[12]; DNS 29-Brandon Hahn

B Feature 2 (10 Laps): 1. 23-Seth Bergman[1]; 2. 82-Scott Winters[3]; 3. 7-Kaley Gharst[2]; 4. 13MJ-Brandon Halverson[6]; 5. 4-Jordan Boston[8]; 6. 29X-Nate Eakin[9]; 7. 2D-Dusty Ballenger[10]; 8. 32-Jason Eckard[7]; DNF 75C-Casey Heser[4]; DNF 91-Dusty Zomer[5]; DNS 53F-Joe Beaver

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[6]; 2. 5H-Justyn Cox[1]; 3. 09-Matt Juhl[2]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[5]; 5. 1B-Robby Wolfgang[3]; 6. 75C-Casey Heser[8]; 7. 64-Bruce Anderson[4]; 8. 2D-Dusty Ballenger[7]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 12-Tyler Drueke[1]; 2. 17W-Cole Wood[3]; 3. 21-Brian Brown[8]; 4. 1M-Danny Lasoski[5]; 5. 13MJ-Brandon Halverson[2]; 6. 93-Dustin Morgan[7]; 7. 29X-Nate Eakin[4]; DNF 53F-Joe Beaver[6]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 25-Brooke Tatnell[2]; 2. 6-Terry McCarl[3]; 3. 05-Brad Loyet[6]; 4. 7-Kaley Gharst[4]; 5. 7K-Dustin Selvage[8]; 6. 45X-Johnny Herrera[5]; 7. 2L-Logan Forler[7]; 8. 612-Isaac Schreurs[1]

Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 11X-Gregg Bakker[1]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[4]; 3. 21V-Justin Henderson[2]; 4. 53-Jack Dover[3]; 5. 82-Scott Winters[6]; 6. 91-Dusty Zomer[7]; 7. 4-Jordan Boston[5]; 8. 05B-Bill Boles[8]

Heat 5 (8 Laps): 1. 94-Jeff Swindell[4]; 2. 93L-Derrik Lusk[2]; 3. 35-Skyler Prochaska[5]; 4. 13-Mark Dobmeier[7]; 5. 75-Tommy Barber[6]; 6. 32-Jason Eckard[3]; DNF 29-Brandon Hahn[1]