Spencer Scores in “Brawl for It All” at CSP!

Mike Spencer took USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast Sprint Car honors in Saturday night's Second Annual "Brawl for It All" at Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, AZ. (Terry Shaw photo)
Mike Spencer took USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast Sprint Car honors in Saturday night's Second Annual "Brawl for It All" at Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, AZ. (Terry Shaw photo)
Mike Spencer took USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast Sprint Car honors in Saturday night’s Second Annual “Brawl for It All” at Canyon Speedway Park in Peoria, AZ. (Terry Shaw photo)

From Lonnie Wheatley


Peoria, AZ — (September 28, 2013) — Mike Spencer landed the winning blow by topping Saturday night’s Second Annual “Brawl for It All” pitting the wingless forces of the USAC Southwest Sprint Cars versus the USAC West Coast Sprint Cars atop the 1/3-mile Canyon Speedway Park clay oval.


Other winners on the night included Josh Shipley in LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Car action, Dustin Cormany in Micro Sprints and Chaz Baca, Jr., in AMA Mod Lites.


After winning the Passing Masters Dash to earn the pole position for the feature, Spencer raced on to the $2,500 “Brawl for It All” payday with his third overall triumph of the season and first in USAC Southwest / USAC West Coast competition.


The five-time USAC/CRA champion from Temecula, CA, was chased to the finish line fellow Cali shoe Colby Copeland, with 12th-starter Josh Pelkey filling out the podium in third.  Shon Deskins was fourth while 2012 “Brawl for It All” winner Charles Davis, Jr., rounded out the top five after starting eleventh.


Shipley added his sixth Challenge Cup Sprint Car feature win of the year in front of Ty Mihocko with Johnny Shelton, Jr., Jesse Turner and Mike Visser rounding out the top five.


Likewise, it was Dustin Cormany collecting his sixth CSP win of the year in Micro Sprint Car action by taking the checkered flag ahead of Ryan Walter, Pat Wing, Jacob Hawkins and Paul Martin.


In Mod Lite action, Chaz Baca, Jr., raced from seventh for his third score of the year in front of Nick Gann, John Priest, Josh Rivera and Brenden Priedt.


Next on tap at Canyon Speedway Park is the Arizona Figure 8 Championships next Saturday, October 5.


Canyon Speedway Park

Second Annual “Brawl for It All” Results:


USAC Southwest vs. USAC West Coast Sprint Cars:


Racers Advantage Heat Race One:  1. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 2. 78-Chris Bonneau, 3. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 4. 7k-Bruce St. James, 5. 20-Shon Deskins, 6. 60-Steve Harms, 7. 32b-Brian Hosford, 8. 53-Tom Lee, 9. 28-Mike Morin.


Racers Advantage Heat Race Two:  1. 12-Josh Pelkey, 2. 16-Mike Martin, 3. 29-Mike Bonneau, 4. 9-Ryan Linder, 5. 74-Colby Copeland, 6. 57x-James Aragon, 7. 11c-Michael Curtis, 8. 5-Ty Mihocko.


Racers Advantage Heat Race Three:  1. 6-Ronnie Clark, 2. 7m-Mike Spencer, 3. 4jr-Damion Gardner, 4. 19-Andrew Reinbold, 5. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 6. 41w-Rick Ziehl, 7. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 8. 98-Matt Lundy.


Passing Masters Dash:  1. 7m-Mike Spencer, 2. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 3. 29-Mike Bonneau, 4. 78-Chris Bonneau, 5. 74-Colby Copeland, 6. 16-Mike Martin, 7. 7k-Bruce St. James, 8. 20-Shon Deskins.


“B” Feature:  1. 41w-Rick Ziehl, 2. 11c-Michael Curtis, 3. 32b-Brian Hosford, 4. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 5. 98-Matt Lundy, 6. 5-Ty Mihocko, 7. 60-Steve Harms, 8. 57x-James Aragon, 9. 53-Tom Lee, 10. 28-Mike Morin.


“A” Feature:  1. 7m-Mike Spencer, 2. 74-Colby Copeland, 3. 12-Josh Pelkey, 4. 20-Shon Deskins, 5. 50-Charles Davis, Jr., 6. 41w-Rick Ziehl, 7. 32b-Brian Hosford, 8. 8-Bob Ream, Jr., 9. 48T-Thomas Ogle, 10. 16-Mike Martin, 11. 7k-Bruce St. James, 12. 11c-Michael Curtis, 13. 60-Steve Harms, 14. 6-Ronnie Clark, 15. 77m-R.J. Johnson, 16. 9-Ryan Linder, 17. 98-Matt Lundy, 18. 78-Chris Bonneau, 19. 5-Ty Mihocko, 20. 4jr-Damion Gardner, 21. 29-Mike Bonneau, 22. 19-Andrew Reinbold.



LoanMart Challenge Cup Sprint Cars:


First Heat:  1. 5-Ty Mihocko, 2. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 3. 0-Tanner Grau, 4. 11az-Jesse Turner, 5. 63-Don Keesler, 6. 57-Jeremy Johnson, 7. 42-Katherine Aragon.


Second Heat:  1. 2-Josh Shipley, 2. 16-Mike Visser, 3. 5x-Dean Colquette, 4. 11T-Cash Watson, 5. 35-Steve Wagner, 6. 21-Brandon Hacker.


“A” Feature:  1. 2-Josh Shipley, 2. 5-Ty Mihocko, 3. 9-Johnny Shelton, Jr., 4. 11az-Jesse Turner, 5. 16-Mike Visser, 6. 57-Jeremy Johnson, 7. 21-Brandon Hacker, 8. 11T-Cash Watson, 9. 63-Don Keesler, 10. 42-Katherine Aragon, 11. 0-Tanner Grau, 12. 5x-Dean Colquette, 13. 35-Steve Wagner.



Micro Sprint Cars:


First Heat:  1. 14-Dustin Cormany, 2. 32-Tyler Dean, 3. 72-Bryan Cavitt, 4. 53-Joe Pitts, 5. 57-Kyle Huttinghow, 6. 21r-Johnathon Patrick, 7. 3-Marty Morin, 8. 31-Tyler Ybarra.


Second Heat:  1. 28-Jacob Hawkins, 2. 12-David Tardiff, 3. 41-Colton Hardy, 4. 18-Travis Sellars, 5. 7-Kevin Keefer, 6. 55-Dave Van Ess, 7. 77-Aaron Miller, 8. 97-Bryan Dawson.


Third Heat:  1. 4-Ryan Walter, 2. 24-Pat Wing, 3. 29-Paul Martin, 4. 37j-Dave Ferneau, 5. 17F-Joe Scheopner, 6. 42-Kenny Hilton, 7. 20az-Jarrett Martin.


“A” Feature:  1. 14-Dustin Cormany, 2. 4-Ryan Walter, 3. 24-Pat Wing, 4. 28-Jacob Hawkins, 5. 29-Paul Martin, 6. 32-Tyler Dean, 7. 41-Colton Hardy, 8. 53-Joe Pitts, 9. 42-Kenny Hilton, 10. 17F-Joe Scheopner, 11. 37j-Dave Ferneau, 12. 57-Kyle Huttinghow, 13. 55-Dave Van Ess, 14. 12-David Tardiff, 15. 20az-Jarrett Martin, 16. 18-Travis Sellars, 17. 72-Bryan Cavitt, 18. 97-Bryan Dawson, 19. 21r-Johnathon Patrick, 20. 7-Kevin Keefer, 21. 3-Marty Morin, 22. 77-Aaron Miller.



AMA Mod Lites:


First Heat:  1. 17-Steve Moriarty, 2. 99-Adam Etcher, 3. X-John Priest, 4. 14-Josh Rivera, 5. 30-Lexus Gann, 6. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 7. 43-Kyler Repella, 8. 24-Austin Zepplin.


Second Heat:  1. 75-Chaz Baca, Jr., 2. 55-Nick Gann, 3. 52-Brenden Priedt, 4. 97-Steve Bender, 5. 95-Collin Bender, 6. 9-Mark Hammill, 7. 7-Mike Schmidt, 8. 57-Kyler Repella II.


“A” Feature:  1. 75-Chaz Baca, Jr., 2. 55-Nick Gann, 3. X-John Priest, 4. 14-Josh Rivera, 5. 52-Brenden Priedt, 6. 95-Collin Bender, 7. 7-Mike Schmidt, 8. 97-Steve Bender, 9. 17-Steve Moriarty, 10. 30-Lexus Gann, 11. 9-Mark Hammill, 12. 77x-Austin Kuehl, 13. 24-Austin Zepplin, 14. 99-Adam Etcher, 15. 57-Kyler Repella II, 16. 80az-Ryan Sandblom, 17. 43-Kyler Repella.