Travis Rilat triumphs at Battleground

rilatFrom Bryan Hulbert
Highlands, TX — (September 28, 2013) — The Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region took to the high-banked Battleground Speedway for the final time in 2013 with Travis Rilat taking the evening’s $3,000 payday.Taking the lead from Michael McNeil on the fourth round, Rilat led the remaining distance for his first Gulf South score of 2013; becoming the fourteenth victor of the season against the Gulf South Region of the ASCS Nation.

Series point’s leader Ray Allen Kulhanek survived several fierce battles with Aaron Retuzel to claim second with Reutzel settling for third. Entering with a difference of six points, the pair are now separated by 13 going into Sunday’s finale at the Battle Ground Speedway in Beaumont, Texas.

Michael McNeil held onto fourth with Brandon Berryman completing the top five. The remainder of the top ten included Beau Smith, Larry Howery, J.J. Simmons, Chris Sweeney, and Travis Elliot.

For updates, news, and points on any region of the ASCS Nation, log onto

Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region
Battleground Speedway – Highlands, Texas
Saturday, September 28, 2013

Car Count: 23

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 69-Larry Howery; 2. 25M-Michael McNeil; 3. 24-Brandie Jass; 4. 51M-Caleb Martin; 5. 36-John Pate; 6. 88-Steve Block; 7. 12-Scott Smith; 8. (DNF) 28H-Mark Harris

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 2. 39C-Travis Rilat; 3. 17T-Scottie McDonald; 4. 19-Klint Angelette; 5. 3-Gary Watson; 6. (DNF) 63T-Tim Marshall; 7. (DNF) 2-Harry Yerrington; DNS 7W-Dustin Welch

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 71-Channin Tankersley; 2. 51-Beau Smith; 3. 31-Brandon Berryman; 4. 87-Aaron Reutzel; 5. 15T-Travis Elliott; 6. 93-Chris Sweeney; 7. 66-J.J. Simmons

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 39C-Travis Rilat; 2. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 3. 87-Aaron Reutzel; 4. 25M-Michael McNeil; 5. 31-Brandon Berryman; 6. 51-Beau Smith; 7. 69-Larry Howery; 8. 66-J.J. Simmons; 9. 93-Chris Sweeney; 10. 15T-Travis Elliott; 11. 19-Klint Angelette; 12. 36-John Pate; 13. 51M-Caleb Martin; 14. 24-Brandie Jass; 15. 7W-Dustin Welch; 16. 17T-Scottie McDonald; 17. 3-Gary Watson; 18. 12-Scott Smith; 19. 71-Channin Tankersley; 20. 88-Steve Block; 21. 63T-Tim Marshall; 22. 2-Harry Yerrington; 23. 28H-Mark Harris

Lap Leader(s): Michael McNeil (1-3), Travis Rilat (4-30)