Angell Park 2014 Season Opener – Thiel Memorial & World Championship

From Powri
MILLSTADT, IL (May 16, 2014) – After seven events hosted in Australia and New Zealand, the POWRi Midget World Championship will make its way to Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, WI for the Theil Memorial on Saturday, May 24th and Sunday, May 25th. The Theil Memorial will be the first two of four World Championship events held in the United States, with the final two scheduled for Bloomington Speedway on Friday, May 30th and Brownstown Speedway on Saturday, May 31st.  Teams from Australia, New Zealand, and the United States will all be vying for the first ever POWRi Midget World Championship title.
 POWRI Outlaw Midget Series Logo tease
The POWRi/Badger co-sanctioned Theil Memorial will be the first two of five POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget events that Angell Park Speedway will host this year.  While Saturday will pay POWRi’s normal $2,000 to win and $200 to start, the Sunday event will jump up to $3,000 to win and $300 to start.  The two nights will be run as two completely separate races, with no cars getting locked into the Sunday feature from the Saturday event.
After the first seven races of the POWRi Midget World Championship, 2014 Chili Bowl Nationals Champion Bryan Clauson is only one point ahead of 2013 USAC National Midget Champion Christopher Bell.  Clauson, who is currently first in World Championship points, nabbed three feature wins while abroad.  Bell returned to the States with two feature wins and presently sits in second.  Darren Hagen is third in the points, while New Zealanders Scott Buckley and Hayden Williams sit in fourth and fifth, respectively.  New Zealander Brad Mosen and Michael Pickens were also POWRi Midget World Championship feature winners in the events that took place abroad.  Mosen currently sits sixth in points, while Pickens is now in eleventh.
Bell, who is the current POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget point’s leader, has had a remarkable start to the 2014 racing season.  After finishing third at the 2014 Chili Bowl Nationals and finding success at the events held in Australia and New Zealand, Bell has continued to dominate.  The 19-eayr-old driver has already won four POWRi National Midget feature events in addition to picking up the first World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car victory of his career at Jacksonville Speedway on May 7th.  If the beginning of the 2014 season is any indicator, Bell will be the car to beat for the 2014 POWRi Midget World Championship.
2014 Current POWRi Midget World Championship Points (Top 10):  1.  Bryan Clauson (138) 2.  Christopher Bell (137) 3.  Darren Hagen (100) 4.  Scott Buckley (97) 5.  Hayden Williams (89) 6.  Brad Mosen (86) 7.  Nathan Smee (81) 8.  Adam Clarke (81) 9.  Chris McCutcheon (81) 10.  Duane Hickman (80)
Angell Park Speedway’s front gates will open at 4:30pm on May 24th and May 25th.  General admission is $15, students, ages 12-18, is $10, children 12 and under FREE.