Kulhanek Takes Gulf South Cash at Gator Motorplex

2014 ascs gulf south region tease american sprint car series

From Bryan Hulbert

Willis, Tx — (June 7, 2014) — For the first time in 2014, Ray Allen Kulhanek raced the Oil Field Equipment and Manufacturing No. 21t to victory, doing so at the Gator Motorplex in Willis, Texas with the Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region.

Winning from the pole, Kulhanek was followed by seventh starting Kevin Ramey with Tommy Bryant taking third. Caleb Martin and Chris Sweeney made up the top five. Klint Angelette, Jake Martens, Channin Tankersley, Brandon Berryman, and Kent Lewis, Jr. completed the top ten.

The next event for the Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region is scheduled for June 20 at the Golden Triangle Raceway Park in Beaumont, Texas and the Royal Purple Raceway in Baytown, Texas on June 21. For updates on the American Sprint Car Series, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region
Gator Motorplex – Willis, Texas
Saturday, June 7, 2014

Car Count: 23

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 15T-Travis Elliott; 2. 93-Chris Sweeney; 3. 79V-Ryan Hall; 4. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 5. 17-Kent Lewis Jr; 6. 31-Brandon Berryman; 7. 29-Mike Walling; 8. 58-Gary Floyd

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 1A-Kevin Ramey; 2. 28-Tommy Bryant; 3. 48-Jake Martens; 4. 11-Channin Tankersley; 5. 76-Zane Lawrence; 6. 5X-Tyson Hall; 7. 74E-Claud Estes III; 8. 24-Brandie Jass

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 12-Scott Smith; 2. 19-Klint Angelette; 3. 51-Caleb Martin; 4. 36-John Pate; 5. 7A-Paul Solomon; 6. 50-Kent Lewis Sr; 7. 61-Travis Knighton

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 31-Brandon Berryman[4]; 2. 5X-Tyson Hall[2]; 3. 76-Zane Lawrence[1]; 4. 29-Mike Walling[5]; 5. 74E-Claud Estes III[3]; 6. 61-Travis Knighton[7]; 7. 24-Brandie Jass[8]; 8. 58-Gary Floyd[9]; 9. 50-Kent Lewis Sr[6]

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[1]; 2. 1A-Kevin Ramey[7]; 3. 28-Tommy Bryant[4]; 4. 51-Caleb Martin[2]; 5. 93-Chris Sweeney[3]; 6. 19-Klint Angelette[8]; 7. 48-Jake Martens[10]; 8. 11-Channin Tankersley[11]; 9. 31-Brandon Berryman[15]; 10. 17-Kent Lewis Jr[13]; 11. 79V-Ryan Hall[9]; 12. 36-John Pate[12]; 13. 29-Mike Walling[18]; 14. 76-Zane Lawrence[17]; 15. (DNF) 74E-Claud Estes III[19]; 16. (DNF) 5X-Tyson Hall[16]; 17. (DNF) 7A-Paul Solomon[14]; 18. (DNF) 61-Travis Knighton[20]; 19. (DNF) 15T-Travis Elliott[6]; 20. (DNF) 12-Scott Smith[5]