Robbie Stillwaggon. - Bill Miller Photo
Robbie Stillwaggon. - Bill Miller Photo
Robbie Stillwaggon. – Bill Miller Photo

From Selinsgrove Speedway

Selinsgrove, PA — (August 23, 2014) — Following a string of strong finishes at Selinsgrove Speedway in recent years, Robbie Stillwaggon of Burlington, N.J., scored his first career win at the Snyder County half-mile oval in Saturday night’s 25-lap 360 sprint car feature.

Stillwaggon, driving the Quality Auto Body No. 89, held off three-time winner TJ Stutts of Liverpool for the $2,000 victory and became the track’s eighth different 360 sprint car winner this season.

Jeff Rine of Danville wired the field in a brand-new race car for his fifth win of the year in the 30-lap super late model tune-up race. The victory marked the 90th of Rine’s career at the track. Steve Campbell of Danville was the night’s overall fast qualifier with a lap time of 18.996.

Nathan Long of Selinsgrove scored his third win of the season in the 15-lap pro stock feature, while
Keith Bissinger of Orangeville made a last-lap pass by John Fowler Jr. of Montandon for his seventh win of the year in the 12-lap roadrunner race.

Selinsgrove Speedway will present the World of Outlaws Late Model Series National Open weekend Saturday, Aug. 30, and Sunday, Aug. 31. Saturday night’s preliminary race will feature the super late models in a 40-lap main event paying $8,000 to win along with pro stocks, followed by Sunday night’s 50-lap 16th annual Open paying $10,000 to win with 358 late models on the racing card. Gates will open at 4 p.m. with racing at 7 p.m. both nights.

Polesitter Matt Horst and second-place starter Joe Trenca dueled for the lead at the start of the sprint car feature. Trenca edged out Horst on the first lap for the lead and set a quick pace around the smooth, fast half-mile oval.

On the third lap, a 10-car melee unfolded in turn three, sidelining a number of drivers, including points leader and leading feature winner Mark Smith for the night. There were no injuries reported.

When the race resumed, Trenca led another lap as eighth-place starter Robbie Stillwaggon put in a bid for the front spot. After Stillwaggon made a pass for the lead, the caution flag unfurled for Jim Shuster in turn two. Trenca retained the lead for the restart until Horst drove by him and led the race through lap 10.

On the 11th circuit, Stillwaggon made the winning pass by Horst using the inside line coming off turn four. TJ Stutts, who started in the 10th position, showed a lot of speed in the second half of the race and powered into the runner-up spot on lap 16.  With five laps to go, Cody Keller’s car stopped in turn four with a flat tire.

When the green flag waved, a chase to the checkered flag unfolded between Stillwaggon and Stutts. Stillwaggon took the win by just 1.4 seconds over Stutts, fourth-place starter Curt Michael, Horst, and ninth-place starter Mike Walter.

In the extra distance late model feature, second-place starter Jeff Rine beat polesitter Steve Campbell into the first turn for the early race lead. Rine set a torrid pace at the front of the pack with Campbell and third-place starter Dylan Yoder in close pursuit.

On the fifth circuit, Yoder made a pass by Campbell for second in turn two and began to reel in Rine. Yoder’s car developed a flat tire and mechanical problems on the 13th lap, forcing him to withdraw from the race. At the halfway point, Rine was leading Campbell, sixth-place starter Matt Cochran, eighth-place starter Dan Stone, and ninth-place starter Gene Knaub.

Cochran passed Campbell for the second position on lap 18 and quickly closed in on Rine. At one point, Cochran was in a position to challenge Rine for the lead in traffic. Meanwhile, 12th-place starter Coleby Frye stormed into the top five.

With two laps to race, the red flag stopped the race when Scott Richwine’s car caught fire on the frontstretch. Richwine escaped injury. For the chase to the checkered flag, Rine stretched his lead and posted a 1.2 second margin of victory over Cochran, Frye, Stone, and fifth-place starter Mike Lupfer.

Third-place starter Brandon Moser powered into the lead at the start of the pro stock feature. Moser was trailed by fifth-place starter Nathan Long for the first five laps until Long made the winning pass using the inside lane in turn three.

The caution flag unfurled on lap seven when points leader Brad Mitch spun in turn two. On the ensuing restart, Long continued to set the pace in front of Moser and sixth-place starter Andrew Shoop. In the final laps, both Moser and Shoop closed in on Long for a three-car battle for the lead and win.

At the finish, Long was victorious by four seconds over Moser, Shoop, Kyle Bachman, and Adam Campbell.

Fourth-place starter John Fowler Jr. led all the laps in the roadrunner race except the one that counted the most. On a last-lap restart, original fifth-place starter Keith Bissinger pulled alongside of Fowler on the backstretch and raced wheel-to-wheel for the lead and win. Racing off turn four for the checkered flag, Bissinger took the win by half a car-length over Fowler. Butch Shaffer, Jeremy Kline, and John Schoch completed the top five.

360 Sprint Cars – 21 Entries
25-Lap A-Main:  1) 89 Robbie Stillwaggon  2) 23 TJ Stutts  3) 5G Curt Michael  4) 29H Matt Horst  5) 49 Mike Walter  6) 77 Derek Locke  7) 98 Joe Trenca  8) 47K Kody Lehman  9) 99K Cody Keller  10) 35B Derrick Bowersox  11) 19 Colby Womer  12) 52 Jim Shuster  13) 33W Michael Walter II  14) 76 Larry Kelleher  15) 1 Mark Smith  16) 66 Ryan Kissinger  17) 1W Chad Layton  18) 29 Jason Shultz  19) 49S Mallie Shuster  20) 35 Shannon Fisher  21) 29S Derek Steward
Heat Winners:  Cody Keller, Robbie Stillwaggon, Derek Locke
Late Models – 28 Entries
30-Lap A-Main:  1) 2J Jeff Rine  2) 16 Matt Cochran  3) 0 Coleby Frye  4) 21D Dan Stone  5) 06 Mike Lupfer  6) 27 Jim Yoder  7) 2 Steve campbell  8) 119B Bryan Bernheisel  9) 43A Gene Knaub  10) 119 Jim Bernheisel  11) 91 Chad Davis  12) 99Z Dave Zona  13) 26 Jerry Bard  14) 4D Chad Hollenbeck  15) 3 Tim Wilson  16) 4S Danny Snyder  17) 33C Chris Casner  18) 9 Hayes Mattern  19) 11 Jason Schmidt  20) 61 Ken Trevitz  21) 3V Scott Richwine  22) 24 Dylan Yoder  23) 7M Meade Hahn  24) 88 Tony Adams  25) 37 Brian Tavenner
Heat Winners:  Matt Cochran, Jeff Rine, Steve Campbell, Dylan Yoder
B-Main Winner:  Chris Casner
Time Trials:  :  1)2 Steve Campbell 18.996  2) 16 Matt Cochran 19.034  3) 2J Jeff Rine 19.101  4) 21D Dan Stone 19.135 5) 24 Dylan Yoder 19.222  6) 99Z Dave Zona 19.397  7) 43A Gene Knaub 19.476  8) 88 Tony Adams 19.510  9) 0 Coleby Frye 19.511  10) 4D Chad Hollenbeck 19.518  11) 06 Mike Lupfer 19.617  12) 3 Tim Wilson 19.638  13) 119 Jim Bernheisel 19.692  14) 91 Chad Davis 19.702  15) 27 Jim Yoder 19.708 16) 11 Jason Schmidt 19.722  17) 119B Bryan Bernheisel 19.739  18) 26 Jerry Bard 19.997  19) 37 Brian Tuvener 20.011 20) 4S Danny Snyder 20.112  21)33C Chris Casner 20.191  22)7M Meade Hahn 20.385  23) 3V Scott Richwine 20.540 24)28 Jason Smith 20.724  25) 88C Randy Croop 21.384  26) 88T Ernie Millon 21.669  27) 61 Ken Trevitz 20.867  28) 9 Hayes Mattern DNT
Pro Stocks – 13 Entries
15-Lap A-Main:  1) 63 Nathan Long  2) 8M Brandon Moser  3) 8S Andrew Shoop  4) 99 Kyle Bachman  5) 2C Adam Campbell  6) 11 Jake Buck  7) 10M Brad Mitch  8) 88 Matt Hornberger  9) 71 Kurt Wray  10) 6 Nate Herman  11) 14C Bill Conrad  12) 4 Jim Payne  13) 20 Tommy Slanker
Heat Winners:  Matt Hornberger, Jake Buck
Roadrunners – 10 Entries
12-Lap A-Main:  1) 11B Keith Bissinger  2) 02 John Fowlerr  3) 7 Butch Shaffer  4) 8K Jeremy Kline  5) 89 John Schoch  6) 22 Ricky Buss  7) 12 Tom Underwood  8) 28 Curtis Lawton  9) F14 Ed Capper  10)31B Brandon Shultz