Daum, Clauson claim POWRi midget wins at Macon Speedway Saturday

POWRi 2011
POWRi 2011

From Macon Speedway

Macon, IL — (September 6, 2014) — POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series points leader Zach Daum stormed to the victory in the first feature race at Macon Speedway Saturday night in front of a loaded field. Daum, of Pocahontas, Ill., started from the front row and held off Bryan Clauson of Noblesville, Ind., for the victory.

Clauson, the reigning Chili Bowl champion, came back to win the second feature before a packed house at the legendary fifth-mile high banked dirt oval as the POWRi series completed its only races of the season here after rainouts kept them from running or finishing in five previous dates.

The open wheel weekend continues with the Tony Bettenhausen 100 for USAC Silver Crown cars at the Illinois State Fairgrounds Sunday in Springfield. Grandstands open at 9 a.m. with practice at 10 and qualifying at 11:15. The race it set to take the green flag at 1:30 p.m.

The racing was already thrilling at Macon Speedway. The track was fast, and the POWRi drivers had plenty of room to maneuver. The cushion was pushed toward the wall, and there were three lanes of racing for the final POWRi midget feature.

Clauson pulled away from Darren Hagen and Justin Grant for the victory in the second feature. Clauson is also a 2012 Indianapolis 500 qualifier.


POWRI MIDGETS (Feature No. 1) – 1. Zach Daum, 2. Bryan Clauson, 3. Darren Hagen, 4. Justin Peck, 5. Austin Brown, 6. Park Price-Miller, 7. Chett Gehrke, 8. Daniel Robinson, 9. Andy Malpocker, 10. Robbie Ray, 11. Ryan Criswell, 12. David Budres, 13. Danny Smith, 14. Andrew Felker, 15. Seth Motsinger, 16. Daniel Adler.

POWRI MIDGETS (Feature No. 2) – 1. Bryan Clauson, 2. Darren Hagen, 3. Justin Grant, 4. Zach Daum, 5. Andy Malpocker, 6. Terry Babb, 7. Dave Darland, 8. Andrew Felker, 9. Daniel Robinson, 10. Parker Price-Miller, 11. Justin Peck, 12. Austin Brown, 13. Seth Motsinger, 14. Chett Gehrke, 15. Spencer Bayston, 16. Shane Cottle, 17. Tyler Robbins, 18. David Budres, 19. Jake Neuman, 20. Colten Cottle.