OCRS Season Ends Saturday at Caney Valley Speedway

From John Lemon

Tulsa OK — (September 30, 2014) — So here we are. Six months worth of sprint car racing encompassing 21 events for the Oil Capital Racing Series and there still isn’t a championship that has been decided. So it’s on to event number 22 this Saturday night at the Osage Casino Caney Valley Speedway in Caney Kansas and this ends it as a new title holder will be determined once and for all.

Caney’s hometown hero Andrew Deal and the Cagle Motorsports team takes their 42-point cushion into the weekend as challenger Danny Smith, with his Tire Factory Motorsports team, look for a late 4th quarter rally in an attempt to hoist the coveted Harold Leep Championship Trophy at the OCRS awards banquet.

Regardless as to who reigns as OCRS king, either driver is of sound character and will not only be an ‘on-track champion’, but a champion that will represent the series well beyond the 2014 season. Each driver has scored one main event win with Deal leading in top five finishes 12-10. Deal also has an edge in top 10 finishes (17-16) while each are tied in heat race wins with eight each.

There are a bevy of others who are expected to compete this Saturday and will look to finish 2014 on a high note. Alex DeCamp has a lock on the most number of main event wins in the series as he goes for win number six this time out. DeCamp won the last OCRS outing at the ¼-mile bullring in a wingless affair last month. Four time OCRS title holder, Jamie Passmore was a firecracker winner in July.

Last weeks winner at the Outlaw Motorsports Park was Chance Morton, who scored his third win of the season on a special night sponsored by AmeriFlex Hose & Accessories. Brian McClelland will look to tie Morton with the second most wins on tour. Other previous 2014 feature winners expected to compete are: Kade Morton, Michael Bookout and Oklahoma State Championship winner, Fred Mattox.

Last season, it was Kyle Clark going into the off-season with victory hardware at the last event and he will look to duplicate that feat this Saturday. Others that will be looking to score their first win in the final event are: Johnny Kent, Cameron Hagin, Nigel Calvert, Blake Edwards, Casey Wills, Mickey Walker, David Stephenson and Dan Schnackenberg among others.

Come out and close the curtain on the OCRS 2014 sprint car season with us. The winter months are but just a few weeks away and this will be a prime opportunity to get that last dose of methanol burning, thrill seeking, adrenaline pumping racing action before the frost settles in. Topless late models will also be on the program along with the tracks regular classes of stocks and modifieds.

What: Oil Capital Racing Series 2014 Season Finale

Where: Osage Casino Caney Valley Speedway / Caney Kansas

When: Saturday September 30, 2014

Time: Gates open at 5p / Hot laps at 6:30p / Racing begins at 7:00p / OCRS drivers meeting at 6:00p

Tickets: General Admission: $15 / Kids 7-12 & Seniors: $5 (6 & under free) / Pit pass: $35

Track Phone: (620) 330-0485

Track website: www.caneyvalleyspeedway.net

The track is easy to locate, as it is just 0.8 mile west of the junction of US 75 and US 166 on CR 1600.

For more information on the OCRS sprint car series, log onto: www.ocrsracing.com

You can also checkout our Facebook page at: https://www.facebook.com/oil.series