McFadden wins at Sydney

James McFadden. (Image courtesy of Valvoline Raceway)
James McFadden. (Image courtesy of Valvoline Raceway)

From Valvoline Raceway

Sydney, AU — (March 14, 2015) — James McFadden put paid to the adage that he doesn’t win at Valvoline Raceway by scoring a brilliant victory tonight ahead of Australian Champion Dave Murcott and Sydney regular Ben Atkinson third.

The race between McFadden and Murcott will go down in the history of Valvoline Raceway as one of the most intense ever witnessed.

“It’s great to race against guys like Dave (Murcott) and Ben (Atkinson), knowing they will give you a lot of room, but still race you hard,” the former two-time Australian Champion said at the presentation, as he received his trophy from Bob Tunks, who was being honoured in the March Legend’s series.

“Running at this place with no wall, it is just fun, especially when the track is the way it was tonight.”

He had to work hard for the win though. Murcott inherited the lead after Toby Bellbowen suffered a flat right rear and had to give up his lead after receiving the mechanical defect flag. Murcott led right up until the 28th lap before McFadden, who worked his way up to second on lap 16, made his move on the Aussie Champ and steal a win, a first for him, at Valvoline Raceway.

Third placed Atkinson gained another four points on track championship leader James Thompson by virtue of his third place and Thompson finishing fifth, behind fourth placed Danny Reidy.

Just finishing outside the top five was Jackson Delmont who started from position 20. Seventh was Robbie Farr followed by Max Dumesny who once again had to perform an engine change prior to time trials, Max Johnston and Adrian Maher rounded out the top ten.

Eleventh home was Northern Territorian Jason Gebert followed by Michael Saller, Kelly Linigen, Daniel Sayre, Sean Dyson, Jeremy Cross with Toby Bellbowen classified as the last finisher.

Non-finishers were Andrew Wright, Craig Brady, Bruce White, Sam Walsh, Grant Anderson, Alex Orr and Jimmy Matchett.

Earlier in the night, it was Toby Bellbowen who set quick time in time trials followed by Atkinson and Reidy.

Heat race wins went to Michael Saller, Dave Murcott, Andrew Wright and Jason Gebert.

Atkinson won the Pole Shuffle with Mark Attard winning the C-Main and Max Johnston taking the B-Main win.

In the Speedcar A-Main it was Troy Jenkins who powered home to win the A-main after Nathan Smee withdrew with engine dramas whilst holding down a commanding lead. Second to the line was Cameron Restall and Dave Lambert recorded a third place finish.

Sprintcars will also compete in the penultimate round of the track championship where James McFadden and Dave Murcott will return to face off once again against the Parramatta Posse.

The night will also feature a bone jarring Demolition Derby.

Gates will open at 2pm, Open Pit for fans to get up close to the Monster Trucks between 3-4 pm, Hot Laps and time-trials from 5.30pm and the racing program starts at 7pm.