Mark Dobmeier Rides the Rim to First NSL Win at Park Jefferson!

Mark Dobmeier picked up his first FVP National Sprint League win Friday night at Park Jefferson International Speedway (Rob Kocak Photo)

Mark Dobmeier picked up his first FVP National Sprint League win Friday night at Park Jefferson International Speedway (Rob Kocak Photo)
Mark Dobmeier picked up his first FVP National Sprint League win Friday night at Park Jefferson International Speedway (Rob Kocak Photo)
From Bill Wright

Jefferson, SD — July 10, 2015 — “Dynamite” Mark Dobmeier picked up his first career FVP National Sprint League win Friday night in front of a packed house at the Park Jefferson International Speedway near Jefferson, South Dakota. The Grand Forks, North Dakota driver’s win came aboard the Jimco Motorsports #13 and was worth $3,000.


Dusty Zomer won a thrilling Dash, and led early in the 25-lap main event from his pole position. Dobmeier gave chase on the high side ahead of Danny Lasoski, Ian Madsen and Terry McCarl. Zomer seemed to work through traffic with ease, while Dobmeier and Lasoski battled for the second spot.


Lasoski tagged the rear nerf bar of Dobmeier’s machine with 16 laps in the books. The contact coming off turn four sent Lasoski into a series of spins. The veteran was able to keep it going, but a yellow was thrown. Officials deemed he did not lose a spot in the running order, so he restarted third on what was ruled an inadvertent yellow.


Zomer did not need the caution, as he had built a three second lead. However, Dobmeier pounced on the opportunity and shot into the lead on the restart. Bill Balog used the restart to surge into the top five. Dobmeier pulled away from the field, but coming for the white flag, the caution flew for Skylar Prochaska who got over the rim of turn four.


That set up a green, white, checker finish. Dobmeier pulled away to claim the win ahead of Zomer, Lasoski, Madsen and Balog. McCarl finished sixth with a fuel line leak, while hard-charger, Tim Kaeding, Bryan Clauson, Brooke Tatnell and Brian Brown rounded out the top ten. Lasoski set quick time over the field, while Kaeding, Logan Forler and McCarl won heat races.


The night ended early for both Austin Johnson and Austin McCarl. Both lost engines early in the night.


“This feels great!” said Dobmeier in Victory Lane. “We’ve been close to getting one of these several times this year. Something happened or whatever, and we just didn’t have it. Tonight we gave our ‘A game’ and came out ahead. It was a great race. Right at the start, Dusty and I were racing each other pretty hard. Later in the race, I had a chance to put a slider on him and we made it stick.”


“I don’t know what the caution was for,” said Zomer. “We set a pretty good pace. We definitely didn’t need that yellow. Mark was good. He got a good run on me coming off of four. We keep knocking on the door. We just keep getting closer and closer. Our heads are up. We’ll just come back tomorrow night and try to get one position better.”


“They were on the top, and I had to go somewhere else,” said Lasoski of the leaders. “It didn’t work for us. Those guys did a good job. I just got together with Mark there (to bring out the caution). It was just good hard racing.”


FVP National Sprint League “Fair Speedweek” is up next! It will begin Tuesday, July 21 at the Hancock County Speedway in Britt, Iowa. On Wednesday, July 22, the series heads to the Iowa State Fair Speedway in Des Moines, and then on to Jackson Speedway in Minnesota on Thursday, July 23. The NSL will finish that weekend at Huset’s Speedway near Brandon, South Dakota on Sunday, July 26. For more information on the FVP National Sprint League, visit!


Results from Park Jefferson International Speedway


FVP A main (started), 25 Laps: 1. 13, Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, ND [2]; 2. 82, Dusty Zomer, Sioux Falls, SD [1]; 3. 2, Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO [3]; 4. 17B, Bill Balog, Brookfield, WI [8]; 5. 18, Ian Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust. [6]; 6. 3, Tim Kaeding, San Jose, CA [14]; 7. 17w, Bryan Clauson, Noblesville, IN [5]; 8. 24, Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA [4]; 9. 55, Brooke Tatnell, Sans Souci, NSW, Aust. [10]; 10. 21, Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO [7]; 11. 2L, Logan Forler, Boise, ID [13]; 12. 12, Lynton Jeffrey, Prairie City, IA [11]; 13. 7TAZ, Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA [17]; 14. 56, Davey Heskin, St. Michael, MN [12]; 15. 5H, Dakota Hendrickson, Omaha, NE [9]; 16. 35, Skylar Prochaska, Lakefield, MN [18]; 17. 0, Brandon Stevenson, Holstein, IA [16]; 18. 4x, Eric Schulz, Sioux Falls, SD [20]; 19. 2K, Kevin Ingle, Huron, SD [21]; 20. 23s, Stu Snyder, Waverly, NE [19]; 21. 09, Matt Juhl, Sioux Falls, SD [15] DNS – 17A, Austin McCarl, Altoona, IA, 81, Austin Johnson, Pleasant Hill, IA. Lap Leaders: Zomer 1-16, Dobmeier 17-25. KSE Hard-charger: Kaeding.


Fuel Safe Dash (started), 6 Laps: 1. Dusty Zomer [2]; 2. Mark Dobmeier [6]; 3. Danny Lasoski [1]; 4. Terry McCarl [3]; 5. Bryan Clauson [4]; 6. Ian Madsen [7]; 7. Brian Brown [8]; 8. Bill Balog [5]


DMI Heat one (started), 8 Laps: 1. Tim Kaeding [1]; 2. Lynton Jeffrey [2]; 3. Mark Dobmeier[3]; 4. Brian Brown [5]; 5. Tasker Phillips [6]; 6. Eric Schulz [7]; 7. Austin McCarl [4]


Kaeding Performance Heat two (started), 8 Laps: 1. Logan Forler [1]; 2. Brooke Tatnell [2]; 3. Ian Madsen [4]; 4. Dusty Zomer [5]; 5. Dakota Hendrickson [3]; 6. Stu Snyder [7]; 7. Brandon Stevenson [6]


Mark Dobmeier. (Brandon Anderson Photo)
Mark Dobmeier. (Brandon Anderson Photo)

Maxim Racing Heat three (started), 8 Laps: 1. Terry McCarl [2]; 2. Davey Heskin [1]; 3. Bill Balog [3]; 4. Bryan Clauson [4]; 5. Danny Lasoski [5]; 6. Skylar Prochaska [7]; 7. Matt Juhl [6]; 8. Kevin Ingle [8]


The Minnesota Mafia Time Trials (Qualifying Order), 2 Laps: 1. Danny Lasoski, 13.396 [8]; 2. Dusty Zomer, 13.479 [20]; 3. Brian Brown, 13.495 [14]; 4. Bryan Clauson, 13.530 [1]; 5. Ian Madsen, 13.531 [18]; 6. Austin McCarl, 13.640 [21]; 7. Bill Balog, 13.654 [22]; 8. Dakota Hendrickson, 13.676 [15]; 9. Mark Dobmeier, 13.696 [19]; 10. Terry McCarl, 13.725 [11]; 11. Brooke Tatnell, 13.770 [9]; 12. Lynton Jeffrey, 13.771 [13]; 13. Davey Heskin, 13.824 [17]; 14. Logan Forler, 13.849 [2]; 15. Tim Kaeding, 13.864 [5]; 16. Matt Juhl, 14.007 [23]; 17. Brandon Stevenson, 14.059 [3]; 18. Tasker Phillips, 14.155 [6]; 19. Skylar Prochaska, 14.159 [10]; 20. Stu Snyder, 14.302 [12]; 21. Eric Schulz, 14.502 [4]; 22. Kevin Ingle, 15.297 [16]; 23. Austin Johnson, NT [7]




Minnesota Mafia Quick Time – Danny Lasoski

Fuel Safe Dash – Dusty Zomer

DMI Heat – Tim Kaeding

Kaeding Performance Heat – Brooke Tatnell

Maxim Racing Heat – Terry McCarl

Speedway Graphics “From the Tail Award” – Kevin Ingle

KSE Hard-charger Award – Tim Kaeding

Bell Helmets “Hard Luck Award” – Austin Johnson