Johnny Herrera dominates ASCS Red River at Wichita Falls!

Johnny Herrera (Serena Dalhamer photo)

Johnny Herrera (Serena Dalhamer photo)
Johnny Herrera (Serena Dalhamer photo)
From Bryan Hulbert

Wichita Falls, TX — (August 28, 2015) — “This one’s for my father,” said an tearful Johnny Herrera in Victory Lane, as the Sprint Car veteran dedicated his victory to his father, Joe Herrera, on Friday night with the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products.

Herrera’s first win since his father’s passing, the MVT No. 45x was untouchable en route to his sixth victory of the season in ASCS competition; lapping all but the top six in 25 laps at the Red River Speedway.

Slowed by cautions three times, the final came on Lap 23 with Sam Hafertepe, Jr and John Carney II looking for their shot at the win, but would come up short with the pair taking the final two podium steps.

Seth Bergman claimed the fourth spot with Kevin Ramey completing the top-five.

Joe Wood, Jr. was the final car on the lead lap in sixth with Kade Morton seventh. From 17th, Zane Lawrence crossed eighth with Brandon Long and John James making up the top-ten.

Up next, the American Bank of Oklahoma ASCS Red River Region presented by Smiley’s Racing Products takes on the Abilene Speedway on Saturday, August 29. For continued updates, log onto

Race Results:

ASCS Red River Region
Red River Speedway – Wichita Falls, Texas
Friday, August 28, 2015

Car Count: 22

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 74B-John Carney II[4]; 2. 8M-Kade Morton[2]; 3. 7M-Chance Morton[3]; 4. 1A-Kevin Ramey[6]; 5. 4J-John James[5]; 6. 76-Zane Lawrence[8]; 7. (DNF) 35K-Chad Koch[1]; 8. (DNF) 2-Mickey Walker[7]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 55-Brad Queen[1]; 2. 52-Blake Hahn[2]; 3. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[6]; 4. 4X-Shawn Petersen[5]; 5. 25-Sterling Hoff[4]; 6. 2K-Brandon Long[7]; 7. (DNF) 05M-Charles McManus[3]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 45X-Johnny Herrera[2]; 2. 23-Seth Bergman[6]; 3. 11-Joe Wood Jr[1]; 4. 17W-Harli White[7]; 5. 12-James Mosher[5]; 6. 58-Gary Floyd[3]; 7. (DNF) 95-Matt Covington[4]

A Feature 1 (25 Laps): 1. 45X-Johnny Herrera[1]; 2. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[7]; 3. 74B-John Carney II[6]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[5]; 5. 1A-Kevin Ramey[9]; 6. 11-Joe Wood Jr[12]; 7. 8M-Kade Morton[3]; 8. 76-Zane Lawrence[17]; 9. 2K-Brandon Long[16]; 10. 4J-John James[13]; 11. 4X-Shawn Petersen[11]; 12. 55-Brad Queen[4]; 13. 17W-Harli White[2]; 14. 7M-Chance Morton[10]; 15. 25-Sterling Hoff[15]; 16. 12-James Mosher[14]; 17. 58-Gary Floyd[18]; 18. 05M-Charles McManus[20]; 19. 2-Mickey Walker[21]; 20. 52-Blake Hahn[8]; 21. 95-Matt Covington[19]; 22. 35K-Chad Koch [22];

Lap Leader(s): Johnny Herrera 1-25