Ramey back on top with ASCS Gulf South victory at Battleground Speedway

2015 ASCS Gulf South Region Logo Top Story

From Bryan Hulbert

Highlands, TX — (September 4, 2015) — Kevin Ramey won the first of two nights in the season finale weekend for the Southern Trailer Works ASCS Gulf South Region presented by Griffith Truck and Equipment at the Battleground Speedway; but the Championship is still wide open.

Having dropped from the point following events at the Shady Oaks Speedway on July 24 and 25, Kevin Ramey trailed the points lead by 11 markers going into Friday night at Battleground. Parking the Jambo BBQ Pits No. 1a in Victory Lane for the first time in 2015 with the ASCS Gulf South Region, Kevin has retaken the lead in the championship standings by 20 over Ray Allen Kulhanek.

Ramey’s 18th career Gulf South Regional win, the No. 1a was followed by Michael McNeil with Sam Hafertepe, Jr. coming from eight to complete the night’s podium. Scottie McDonald from 11th was fourth with Michael Lang fifth.

Jordon Mallett crossed sixth with Ray Allen Kulhanek seventh, followed by Channin Tankersley who dropped to a 70 point deficit going into Saturday’s finale. Zane Lawrence and Klint Angelette completed the top-ten.

With a single night of racing to go to determine who will be crowned the 2015 Champion of the Southern Trailer Works ASCS Gulf South Region presented by Griffith Truck and Equipment, action at the Battleground Speedway gets back underway on Saturday, September 5 at 8:00 P.M. (CT).

For continued updates on the ASCS Gulf South Region, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Race Results:

ASCS Gulf South Region
Battleground Speedway – Highlands, Texas
Friday, September 4, 2015

Car Count: 28

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 1A-Kevin Ramey; 2. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr; 3. 14-Channin Tankersley; 4. 14L-Michael Lang; 5. 66-Aaron Reutzel; 6. 51-Caleb Martin; 7. 28-Tommy Bryant; 8. 48-Cody Stacy; 9. 1-Randy Allen; 10. (DNF) 11-Jerry Cox

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 2. 33X-Mark Huddleston; 3. 29-Mike Walling; 4. 93-Chris Sweeney; 5. 5X-Tyson Hall; 6. 36-John Pate; 7. 5-Jimmy Brooks; 8. 69-Larry Howery; 9. (DNF) 02-Harry Yerrington

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 14M-Jordon Mallett; 2. 19-Klint Angelette; 3. 88-Scottie McDonald; 4. 25M-Michael McNeil; 5. 76-Zane Lawrence; 6. 17T-Dustin Gates; 7. 17-Cody Tankersley; 8. F13-Cody Barksdale; DNS 57-Jacob Lucas

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 28-Tommy Bryant[5]; 2. 17T-Dustin Gates[4]; 3. 51-Caleb Martin[2]; 4. 93-Chris Sweeney[1]; 5. 57-Jacob Lucas[14]; 6. 36-John Pate[3]; 7. 69-Larry Howery[8]; 8. 48-Cody Stacy[10]; 9. F13-Cody Barksdale[9]; 10. (DNF) 1-Randy Allen[12]; 11. (DNF) 02-Harry Yerrington[11]; 12. (DNF) 17-Cody Tankersley[7]; 13. (DNF) 5-Jimmy Brooks[6]; 14. (DNF) 11-Jerry Cox[13]

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 1A-Kevin Ramey[4]; 2. 25M-Michael McNeil[3]; 3. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[8]; 4. 88-Scottie McDonald[11]; 5. 14L-Michael Lang[5]; 6. 14M-Jordon Mallett[2]; 7. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[6]; 8. 14-Channin Tankersley[12]; 9. 76-Zane Lawrence[9]; 10. 19-Klint Angelette[7]; 11. 17T-Dustin Gates[16]; 12. 51-Caleb Martin[17]; 13. 36-John Pate[20]; 14. 29-Mike Walling[13]; 15. 93-Chris Sweeney[18]; 16. 33X-Mark Huddleston[10]; 17. (DNF) 66-Aaron Reutzel[1]; 18. (DNF) 28-Tommy Bryant[15]; 19. (DNF) 57-Jacob Lucas[19]; 20. (DNF) 5X-Tyson Hall[14]