Hafertepe wins ASCS Gulf South Region at Battleground Speedway

2015 ASCS Gulf South Region Logo Top Story

From Bryan Hulbert

Highlands, TX — (September 5, 2015) — Picking up season victory three in ASCS Regional competition, Sam Hafertepe, Jr. led flag-to-flag on Saturday night with the Southern Trailer Works ASCS Gulf South Region presented by Griffith Truck and Equipment at the Battleground Speedway.

Career win No. 7 for Hafertepe with the ASCS Gulf South Region, the No. 15h was joined on the podium by Tommy Bryan and Channin Tankersley. From 11th, Aaron Reutzel grabbed fourth with Ray Allen Kulhanek, from 9th, completing the top-five.

Bringing the Jambo BBQ Pits No. 1a home sixth, Kevin Ramey secured his first Championship with the Southern Trailer Works ASCS Gulf South Region presented by Griffith Truck and Equipment. Kevin now owns four ASCS Regional Titles; going back-to-back with the ASCS Sooner Region in 2003 and 2004, as well as topping the ASCS Lone Star Region in 2009.

Michael McNeil was seventh with Jordon Mallett eighth. Zane Lawrence and Jacob Lucas made up the top-ten.

The entire staff of the American Sprint Car Series congratulates Kevin Ramey, and car owner Ricky Stapleton, on their Championship, and look forward to seeing them defend their title in 2016.

Thank you to Southern Trailer Works and Griffith Truck and Equipment for their sponsorship of the ASCS Gulf South Region. We look forward to years to come. Finally, to our fans, we cannot thank you enough because without the fans, there is now show.

For updates on the remainder of the points battles in the ASCS Nation, log onto http://www.ascsracing.com.

Race Results:

ASCS Gulf South Region
Battleground Speedway – Highlands, Texas
Saturday, September 5, 2015

Car Count: 28

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 2. 14-Channin Tankersley; 3. 66-Aaron Reutzel; 4. 5-Jimmy Brooks; 5. 17-Cody Tankersley; 6. F13-Cody Barksdale; 7. (DNF) 51-Caleb Martin; 8. (DNF) 14L-Michael Lang

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 5X-Tyson Hall; 2. 14M-Jordon Mallett; 3. 57-Jacob Lucas; 4. 17T-Dustin Gates; 5. 36-John Pate; 6. 33X-Mark Huddleston; 7. 0-Shady Price; 8. 1-Randy Allen

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 76-Zane Lawrence; 2. 28-Tommy Bryant; 3. 93-Chris Sweeney; 4. 29-Mike Walling; 5. 19-Klint Angelette; 6. 8-Bruce Crockett; 7. 69-Larry Howery; 8. 02-Harry Yerrington

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 19-Klint Angelette[1]; 2. 51-Caleb Martin[7]; 3. 8-Bruce Crockett[3]; 4. 36-John Pate[2]; 5. 69-Larry Howery[6]; 6. 33X-Mark Huddleston[5]; 7. 0-Shady Price[4]; 8. 1-Randy Allen[9]; 9. (DNF) 02-Harry Yerrington[8]; DNS 14L-Michael Lang

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 15H-Sam Hafertepe Jr[2]; 2. 28-Tommy Bryant[4]; 3. 14-Channin Tankersley[7]; 4. 66-Aaron Reutzel[11]; 5. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek[9]; 6. 1A-Kevin Ramey[3]; 7. 25M-Michael McNeil[6]; 8. 14M-Jordon Mallett[8]; 9. 76-Zane Lawrence[10]; 10. 57-Jacob Lucas[13]; 11. 19-Klint Angelette[19]; 12. 17T-Dustin Gates[12]; 13. 5X-Tyson Hall[1]; 14. 51-Caleb Martin[20]; 15. 93-Chris Sweeney[14]; 16. 69-Larry Howery[23]; 17. 33X-Mark Huddleston[24]; 18. (DNF) 8-Bruce Crockett[21]; 19. (DNF) 29-Mike Walling[17]; 20. (DNF) 5-Jimmy Brooks[16]; 21. (DNF) 17-Cody Tankersley[15]; 22. (DNF) 36-John Pate[22]; 23. (DNF) 88-Scottie McDonald[5]; 24. (DNF) F13-Cody Barksdale[18]

Season Standings (Top 20, Final):


1-Kevin Ramey-1759
2-Ray Allen Kulhanek-1742
3-Channin Tankersley-1702
4-Michael McNeil-1651
5-Tommy Bryant-1610
6-Jacob Lucas-1542
7-Zane Lawrence-1529
8-Caleb Martin-1365
9-John Pate-1364
10-Larry Howery-1324
11-Klint Angelette-1161
12-Scottie McDonald-1128
13-Michael Lang-1088
14-Harry Yerrington-1048
15-Cody Barksdale-1000
16-Tyson Hall-932
17-Dustin Gates-878
18-Mike Walling-725
19-Travis Rilat-717
20-Randy Allen-685