2016 USAC United States Auto Club Logo Top Story Logo Top Story
Tony Stewart, one of the most legendary names in all of auto racing, will be in attendance as he is inducted into the USAC Hall of Fame during a ceremony at Brownsburg, Indiana’s Lucas Oil Raceway Thursday, July 21, in conjunction with the 100-lap USAC Silver Crown “Rich Vogler Classic.”
2016 USAC United States Auto Club Logo Top Story
Stewart, of Columbus, Ind., became the first driver ever to claim all three of USAC’s National championships in a single season (in 1995) and is one of only six USAC “Triple Crown Champions.” He won the 1994 USAC National Midget title, then added the Midget, Sprint and Silver Crown honors the next season.
Proficient in virtually every form of motorsports, he has earned three NASCAR Cup championships (2002, 2005 and 2011) and a 1997 Indy Racing League title. He has 27 USAC National Midget wins to his credit, as well as 10 wins in the Sprint cars and three in the Silver Crown series.
A member of the National Midget Hall of Fame (2001), his list of impressive motorsports awards and accolades continues to grow. In five Indianapolis 500 appearances, he started first in 1996, finished fifth from the front row in 1997, was ninth in 1999 and sixth in 2001.
His charitable contributions through his Tony Stewart Foundation are endless. In addition to his USAC driving titles, he also has seven Sprint Car Owner championships as well as seven in the Silver Crown Series as an owner.
Thursday’s race honors Vogler, the winningest driver in USAC history and also serves as the backdrop for USAC’s fifth Hall of Fame induction ceremony, which honors a dozen participants from USAC’s past. Along with Stewart, Thursday’s inductees include (in alphabetical order) Steve Butler, Russ Clendenen, Jimmy Davies, Willie Davis, Bob Higman, Tommy Hinnershitz, Dick King, Rick Mears, Pat O’Connor, Kevin Olson and Bob Tattersall.
The ceremony is set to be held at 8pm prior to the Silver Crown main event, which is slated for 8:45pm.