Chapple Keeps Winning Streak Alive with BOSS

Isaac Chapple. (Bill Miller photo)

By Morgan Miller
Willow Branch, Indiana’s Isaac Chapple once again rewrites the MPD Racing BOSS Sprint record books winning his fourth feature event in a row with the series at Atomic Speedway. Isaac’s win streak appeared to be in great jeopardy after catching fire following his qualification effort. Chapple and crew went to work on the Tin Plate Fine Food & Spirits, No Drama Zone, S&M Construction #52 to get their night back on track and once again find themselves celebrating in victory lane.

24 MPD Racing 410 sprint cars made the tow to the world’s fastest 3/8th mile despite the potential threat of rain in the area. A tip of the hat to track promoter Brad McCown and crew who took a chance on racing with a less than favorable forecast and worked tirelessly to produce the best racing surface possible with the hand that mother nature had dealt them.

In ARP Fasteners Qualifying Matt Westfall would set quick time in group one at a time of 14.298. Sixteen-year-old Saban Bibent clocked in fastest in group two at 14.018. Future feature winner Isaac Chapple was quickest in group three in an overall quick time of 13.817. There was no shortage of excitement in TCB Speed Heat #1 where eighth starting Ricky Lewis would find himself in the second position by lap two and go on to comfortably score the heat win. Saban Bibent and Isaac Chapple would keep the trend of winning from deep in the field alive by winning The Cushion Heat #2 and Hoosier Tire Midwest Heat #3 from fourth.

MSD Ignition redraw placed three-time Atomic Speedway feature winner Matt Westfall on the pole with Justin Owen to his outside. The man to beat; Isaac Chapple would start inside second row. Ricky Lewis’s impressive heat race win would earn him a fourth place starting position. The third row was made up of the two young guns of Ryan Thomas and Saban Bibent.

When the green flag waved on the 25 lap A-main event Matt Westfall would lead lap one where he would quickly have company from Isaac who would take the lead from Westfall on lap 3, but the story was far from over for Chapple. In heavy lap traffic fourth starting Ricky Lewis would find the tail tank of Chapple and make his move for the lead on lap 17. Lewis’s lead however was short lived as the caution flag would fly shortly after. Placing Isaac in perfect position to regain the lead on the ensuing restart Ricky Lewis gave Isaac Chapple everything he had in the final 8 laps to regain the lead, but it would ultimately not be enough to bring Chapple’s win streak to an end.

Box Score

MPD Racing BOSS Sprints

Saturday July 10, 2021

Atomic Speedway

ARP Fasteners Qualifying

Group #1: 1. 33m-Matt Westfall 14.298, 2. 9-Cody Gardner 14.686, 3. 34-Parker Fredrickson 14.700, 4. 1B -Keith Baxter 15.083, 5. 5v-Jesse Vermillion 15.115, 6. 9-Dustin Webber 15.158, 7. 73-Blake Vermillion 30.709, 8. 11-Ricky Lewis NT

Group #2: 1. 10-Saban Bibent 14.018, 2. 77-Ryan Thomas 14.108, 3. 11-Drew Rader 14.415, 4. 24L-Lee Underwood 14.832, 5. 53-Steve Little 15.001, 6. X-Rick Holley 15.123, 7. 8d-Josh Davis 15.171, 8. 11g-Luke Griffith 15.184.

Group #3: 1. 52-Isaac Chapple 13.817, 2. 4j-Justin Owen 14.372, 3. 18-Dallas Hewitt 14.400, 4. 82-Mike Miller 14.625, 5. 44-Michael Fischesser 14.936, 6. 2di-Dustin Ingle 15.444, 7. 92-Jacob Beck 16,519, 8. 21-Travis Hery NT

TCB Speed – Heat 1: 1. 11-Ricky Lewis[8]; 2. 34-Parker Fredrickson[2]; 3. 9-Cody Gardner[3]; 4. 33m-Matt Westfall[4]; 5. 5v-Jesse Vermillion[5]; 6. 1B-Keith Baxter[1]; 7. 9-Dustin Webber[6]; 8. 73-Blake Vermillion[7]

The Cushion – Heat 2: 1. 10-Saban Bibent[4]; 2. 74-Drew Rader[2]; 3. 77-Ryan Thomas[3]; 4. 24L-Lee Underwood[1]; 5. X-Rick Holley[6]; 6. 8D-Josh Davis[7]; 7. 53-Steve Little[5]; 8. 11G-Luke Griffith[8]

Hoosier Tire – Heat 3: 1. 52-Lee Isaac Chapple[4]; 2. 4J-Justin Owen[3]; 3. 82-Mike Miller[1]; 4. 2DI-Dustin Ingle[6]; 5. 44-Michael Fischesser[5]; 6. 43b-Jacob Beck[7]; 7. 18-Dallas Hewitt[2]; 8. 21-Travis Hery[8].

MPD Racing – BOSS A-Main: 1. 52-Isaac Chapple[3]; 2. 11-Ricky Lewis[4]; 3. 33M-Matt Westfall[1]; 4. 77-Ryan Thomas[5]; 5. 2di-Dustin Ingle[12]; 6. 74-Drew Rader[8]; 7. 9-Cody Gardner[9]; 8. 0-Saban Bibent[6]; 9. 5v-Jesse Vermillion[13]; 10. 82-Mike Miller[10]; 11. 34-Parker Fredrickson[7]; 12. 44-Michael Fischesser[15]; 13. 1b-Keith Baxter[16]; 14. 73-Blake Vermillion[21]; 15. 24L-Lee Underwood[11]; 16. 8d-Josh Davis[17]; 17. 21-Travis Hery[23]; 18. X-Rick Holley[14]; 19. 11G-Luke Griffith[22]; 20. 43B-Jacob Beck[18]; 21. 4j-Justin Owen[2]; 22. 9-Dustin Webber[19]; 23. 53-Steve Little[20]; 24. 18-Dallas Hewitt[DNS].

MPD Racing – BOSS Main Event:

Apple Metal Polishing – Lucky Pill Draw: 44 Michael Fischesser

The Bridge Restaurant – Hard Charger: 73 Blake Vermillion

Accu-Force Dyno & Testers – Hard Luck: 53 Steve Little

All Star Performance – Sweet Move: 11 Ricky Lewis

Hoosier Tire Midwest – Tire Bonus: 52 Isaac Chapple

Cowen Truck Line – Steel Block: X – Rick Holley

USAC Speed2 Midwest Thunder Midget Car Series

1. 11T-Jacob Denney
2. 12M-Bryce Massingill
3. 11H-Abby Hohlbein
4. 42-Cory Guingrich
5. 93C-Chett Gehrke
6. 71-Straton Briggs
7. 12Y-Josh Yenger
8. 22-Gunner Lucics
9. 36-Ian Creager
10. 4K-kayla Roell
11. 49P-Carl Peterson
12. 11-Taylor Nibert
13. 8Z-Zack Ginerich
14. 2-Kyle Dager
15. 5-Jody Paul
16. 12-Kyle Kreiegbaum
17. 23D-Bryce Dues