Jac Haudenschild Wins at Wayne County Speedway

By Mike Swanger
ORRVILLE, Ohio (August 27, 2021) — Jac Haudenschild won the sprint car feature Saturday night at Wayne County Speedway. Haudenschild move dup from fourth starting position for the feature victory.
Just a six point advantage going into the nights action with Broc Martin holding that advantage over Wooster’s Dean Jacobs that would disappear after the heat races as Jacobs won his heat and Martin, driving the 9x sprinter, dropped out of his heat race and would have to start 14th in the feature while Jacobs would begin on the outside front row of the Pine Tree Towing & Recovery Sprint Season Championship feature.

The opening lap would see three wide going into turn three as Zach Ames got bumped and was launched into the turn three fencing and as he came back down onto the track, he would get into Broc Martin’s car and flip his ride, ending his hopes of the title. On the next attempt to get the race started, turn three took the brunt of action again as Chris Myers and Trey Jacobs getting together and sending Trey for a wild flip, ending his night, Myers would last until lap 4 when he dropped out with a flat tire.

With a stretch of green flag action going, Dean Jacobs would take the lead with Jac Haudenschild in pursuit but on lap seven, the nose wing on Jacobs’ #9 started to come loose as Haudenschild closed in. Following a lap 10 caution for a spun Travis Danford, Haudenschild made a slide move in turn two for the lead but Jacobs came back with a crossover move to retain the lead but the next time around, Haudenschild made the pass stick in turn two and pulled away as Jacobs would be in a dog fight for second as Andrew Palker and Ricky Peterson tried to get by the ailing Jacobs sprinter.

Driving the Ron Jacobs Racing and Grove Racing #3, Haudenschild would build up a six second lead but with 2 to go, the caution came out for a stopped Connor Morrell and would bunch the field together. The final two circuits would see Haudenschild pull away for the win as Palker and Peterson dueled to get by Jacobs to no avail as Peterson would edge past Palker for third on the last lap.

Henry Malcuit held off Nick Patterson for fifth. Malcuit and Dean Jacobs topped the heats. Jacobs claimed his third straight chapmionship and it was the 4th in a row for the McClure Motorsports team.