Kuhn increases Driver of the Year point with victory at Ventura

From Bryan Gapinski

Ventura, Calif., Nov.21—Brad Kuhn’s victory in Saturday’s ARP/J.W. Mitchell Fall Classic at Ventura Raceway increased his point lead in the battle for the 2009 National Midget Driver of the Year Championship. Kuhn now holds a 87-point lead over Bryan Clauson, with three events remaining.
Clauson spun leading the feature on the 22nd-lap, giving Kuhn the lead on the enusing restart. Kuhn went unchallenged the remainder of the event. Clauson who restarted in 19th position finished in eighth in the 40-lap feature.
The Toyota Speedway at Irwindale California will host the 69th annual Turkey Night Grand Prix on Thanksgiving Night Nov. 26. Kuhn hopes to lock up the USAC National Midget Series title at the event. Clauson will looking for a top finish at Irwindale to trim Kuhn’s NMDOTY lead before leaving Southern California.
The final two events which will determine the NMDOTY Championship will be the Friday & Saturday Night Nov. 27-28 events at Canyon Speedway Park (Peoria, Ariz.). The Southwest Championships will feature midget racing sanctioned by the AMRA, along with non-winged 360 sprint Cars, and mini sprints. Saturday Night’s feature will pay $2,000-to-win. Sands Chevrolet in Glendale, Ariz. has joined the growing list of sponsors for the event which has seen several purse increases since the event was announced.
Kuhn’s primary car owner RW Motorsports increased their lead the Car Owners Championship to an almost unpassable145 point lead over Loyet Motorsports. Caleb Armstrong who finished in 14th position at Ventura now trails Alex Bowman by 62 in the Design 500 Racewear Rookie of the Year standings.

Driver: 1. Brad Kuhn 1523; 2. Bryan Clauson 1436; 3.Brad Loyet 1259; 4. Jerry Coons Jr. 1252; 5. Bobby East 958; 6. Darren Hagen 955; 7. Brad Sweet 925; 8. Tracy Hines 907; 9. Cole Whitt 758; 10.Scott Hatton 663.

Car Owner: 1. RW Motorsports#17, 1434; 2. Loyet Motorsports#05, 1289, 3. Wilke-PAk#11, 1069, 4. Corey Tucker#39, 1007; 5. RFMS#3, 861.

Rookie of the Year: 1. Alex Bowman 465; 2. Caleb Armstrong 403; 3. Andrew Felker 381; 4. Alex Schuette 326; 5. Tanner Swanson 259.

Manufactures: Engine: 1. Ford-Esslinger 549; 2. Mopar 170; 3. Fontan 133; 4. Toyota 117; 5. Chevrolet 83.
Chassis: 1. Spike 521; 2. Beast 292; 3. Stealth 155; 4. Drinan 49; 5. Buzzard 31.